Upstarts set the pace in Uasin Gishu A.K meeting

Upstarts Hillary Kipchumba and Susan Kiplagat were the winners of Uasin Gishu County Athletics Kenya Track and Field Championships held today at Moi University School of Law, Annex track.

Kipchumba, who want to feature in the Kenya Team for this year’s Africa Athletics Championships, won the men’s 10,000m after facing little challenge from his rivals Douglas Kimeli and Isaac Kimutai on a track that has become the training ground for majority of athletes within North Rift region with Kipchoge Keino and Kamariny stadium all under construction.

Evans Biwott claims heat 2

The runner who has never won any competitive race and competing for Kapseret Sub-County, Kipchumba stopped the timer at 29:23.8.

“I have been waiting for a win and represent Kenya for any championships and this is my year. I want to wear the national colour for the first time this year,” said Kaptagat based runner.

Kipchumba beat Kimeli and Kimutai to second and third positions respectively in 29:42.6 and 30:02.6 respectively.

In women’s category, Kiplagat beat allodds to become the winner in the 24 lap race. Coming from Kapseret, won in slower time of 37:25.5 ahead of Turbo’s Eleen Korir (37:29.4) as Beatrice Chepchumba completed the podium in 38:15.9.

Gerald Vincent and Joan Jepkemoi were the winners of 1,500mmen and women respectively.

Vincent, running the fastest heat one 3:46.2, was declared the winner in the heat two men’s contest. After winning heat two, Evans Biwott won the second position in 3:46.7 as 2014 world under 20,1,500m champion Jonathan Sawe, who finished second in heat 2 behind Biwott, complete the top three position in 3:47.1.

In women’s race, Kipkemoi won the race in 4:30.8 ahead of favoured Janet Ruguru who clocked 4:39.8 as Beatrice Chepchumba completed the podium in 4:42.2.

The county was using the event to select the team that will represent them at the Central Rift A.K meeting at the same venue in a week’s time.

Central Rift conists of running counties of Baringo, hosts Uasin Gishu and Nandi.


Facebook Comments