Athletics Kenya picks 27 for Tampere World U20

After hosting two day national trials for the world Under 20 Championships, Athletics Kenya named 27 athletes that will represent Kenya at the World Under 20 championships in Tampere, Finland in July.

The athletes consists, among them world under 18 medalists that were held in Kasarani last year.

Those who made the cut include world U18 400m silver medalist Mary Moraa, bronze medalist Samson Ndigit in men’s walk and Moitalel Mpoke in the 400mhurdles silver medalist.

Upstarts Zena Jemutai and Mercy Chepkorir will represent Kenya after taking positions 1 and 2 at the championships tolock out Jepkirui who was recovering from hamstring injury.

But it was great harvest too for World Under-18 gold medallists’ Leonard Bett (2,000m steeplechase), Jackline Wambui (800m), George Manangoi (1,500m) and Caren Chebet (2,000m steeplechase).

Commonwealth 5,000m bronze medalist Edward Zakayo and Stanley Waithaka, who won silver and bronze in 3,000m and Lydia Jeruto, the World Under-18 800m silver medallist and triple jumper Philip Musyoka.

Ndingiti, the World Under-18 10,000m race walk bronze medallist, clocked 42:03.30 to qualify as Moraa timed 54.94 who will carry Kenyan flag a lone.

Mpoke timed 50.87 to prevail in the men’s 400m hurdles, as James Mucheru (Nairobi) clocked 51.23 for second place to all book their tickets.

Zakayo, the Commonwealth 5,000m bronze medallist, and Waithaka, the National Cross Country Under-20 champion, strutted to a 1-2 finish in 13:19.74 and 13:23.67 in the men’s 5,000m to earn their berths.

Despite having a good field day, there were casualties like World U18 silver medalist in 3,000m Emmaculate Chepkirui and Cleophas Kandie, the World U18 2,000m steeplechase silver medalist failed to make the cut.

Chepkirui finished a distant eighth in the women’s 3,000m race in 9:21.59 while Kandie finished third in 8:30.43 in the men’s 3,000m steeplechase.

Bett and Kiplagat vowed to uphold Kenya’s dominance at the junior event where the country is yet to lose since the second edition in 1988.

Additional information Daily Nation

Facebook Comments