Stanbic Bank to sponsor national sevens series

Stanbic Bank will be the title sponsor for this year’s Rugby sevens Circuit that kicks off this weekend in Nakuru’s Athletics Club -Prinsloo sevens.

Related stories

Today, the bank announced a Kshs9 million sponsorship deal with KRU for the season long deal in the six-leg series across the country.

Stanbic bank also sponsors Mwamba RFC, will be in-line for the one year series that kicked off in 1999.

The sponsorship will be channeled to the six host clubs on the National Sevens Circuit who will each receive KSh1mn. It will also aid the Union’s administrative costs during the duration of the circuit,” Kenya Rugby Union boss Richard Omwela said after unveiling the new partnership.

Stanbic Bank CEO Charles Mudiwa added on that the bank was excited with the new partnership with a sport that has played a massive role in seeing Kenya earn global respect.

Our continued investment is tied to a noble ambition to build rugby from the grassroots level of the game and encouraging even more people to watch and play the sport,” Mudiwa said.

The circuit, played every year since 1999 and now entering its 20th edition. It is an annual series of rugby sevens tournaments run by the Kenya Rugby Union in conjunction with host clubs featuring teams from across the country.

Teams compete for the National Sevens Circuit title by accumulating points based on their finishing position in each tournament. The season’s circuit currently comprises 6 tournaments in 6 cities and towns across Kenya.

National Sevens Circuit Venues & Dates

Nakuru: Prinsloo Sevens: 21st /22nd July – Nakuru Athletic Club

Eldoret: Sepetuka Sevens: 28th/29th July – Eldoret Sports Club

Machakos: Kabeberi Sevens: 18th/19th August – Kenyatta Stadium

Mombasa: Driftwood Sevens: 25th/26th August – Mombasa Sports Club

Kisumu: Dala Sevens: 8th/9th September – Mamboleo Showground

Nairobi: Christie Sevens: 15th/16th September – RFUEA Ground

Source Capital

Facebook Comments