Mark Wandetto named as Frank Wanyama returns in Shujaa squad

National Rugby Sevens series top try scorer Mark Wandetto has been called in the provisional 32 man squad in the Shujaa team ahead of 2018/19 season.

Related stories

It was a good season for Frank Wanyama who returns after rape case allegations that kept him out of last season’s final matches.

Wandetto, who anchored Homeboyz RFC claim the national title after winning four out of six meetings across the country will be joined by club mates Brian Wandera, Charles Omondi, Aslvin Otieno, Michael Wanjala, Johnstone Olindi, Leonard Mugaisi among others in the squad released by Kenya Rugby Union.

KRU unveiled the squad after the conclusion of the National Sevens Circuit with the selectors basing their choose on their exemplary performance during the circuit.

Further to the 31, there are 10 players from the 2017/2018 season who are up for a performance review as well as three players in the absentee selection list. The full squad comprises of 44 players.

The squad is set to have their trials and initial assessment tests this weekend after which the final squad will start their preparations for the Africa Cup Championship in Tunisia before embarking on the 2018/19 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in December.

Wanyama together with Alex Olaba were in April charged of gang raping a woman but pleaded not quilt


Homeboyz – Brian Wandera, Charles Omondi, Alvin Otieno, Michael Wanjala, Johnstone Olindi, Leonard Mugaisi, Mark Wandetto, Jeffrey Oluoch.

Mwamba -Eliakim Kichoi, Ronnie Omondi, Daniel Taabu, Matt Wanjia, Collins Injera, Billy Odhiambo.

Nondescripts -Benjamin Marshall, Oscar Dennis.

Menengai Oilers – Harold Anduvate, Derrick Keyoga, Erick Ombasa.

Nakuru RFC – Philip Kwame, Monate Akuei, Geoffrey Ominde, Gramwel Bunyasi, Nelson Oyoo.

Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology – Timothy Mmasi.

Impala Saracens – Paul Mutsami, Mark Kwemoi, Samuel Motari, Samuel Oliech.

KCB RC – Andrew Amonde, Shaban Ahmed, Vincent Onyala, Arthur Owira.

Kenya Harlequin – Frank Wanyama, Cyprian Kuto, William Ambaka, Eden Agero, Herman Humwa.

BlakBad RC –  Brian Wahinya, Arcadius Khwesa.

Strathmore Leos – Edmund Anya.

Kabras Sugar RFC – Brian Tanga, Daniel Sikuta. South Africa – William Reeves

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *