Ulinzi Warriors wins opening play-off

Kenya will present two teams at this year’s Safari Sevens Rugby tournament to be played at the RFUEA Ground, Nairobi.

Newly appointed head coach Paul Murunga is expected to name his double squad of Shujaa and Morans ahead of next weekend’s event.

Safari Sevens will be Murunga’s first assignment as coach since replacing Innocent “Namcos” Simiyu last month.

Shujaa edged out Samurai International 38-21 to lift the 2016 title but were not able to defend their title last year after the tourney was cancelled.

World Series core team Spain are among 12 teams that have confirmed participation in this year’s Safari Sevens. Spain, who finished 11th in the 2017/18 Sevens Series season, will be joined by Iberian neighbours Portugal, a former World Rugby Sevens Series core team.

Other teams heading to Nairobi include British sides Apache Sevens, Red Wailers and Samurai Sevens, South African side Cobras, Uganda, Namibia and Burkina Faso, who are making their first appearance.

Besides Shujaa and Morans, Kenya will be represented by Stanbic National Sevens Series champion, Homeboyz.

This year’s tournament takes on a 12 team format, similar to that used at the Olympic Games and Rugby World Cup Sevens competitions.

Safari Sevens confirmed teams are Spain, Portugal, Apache 7s, Red Wailers, Samurai 7s, Cobras, Uganda, Namibia, Morans, Shujaa, Burkina Faso, Homeboyz.

At the same time, Safari Sevens ticket holders will enjoy the luxury of a free bus ride during the tournament.

The buses will operate for 12 hours between 9.00am and 9.00pm next Saturday and Sunday, doing the round trip between the Kencom Bus Stage in Nairobi’s Central Business District and the tournament venue at the RFUEA.

Friday tickets are on sale at a flat fee of Sh 500 while regular advance tickets are retailing at Sh 1200 per day (Saturday and Sunday). VIP advance tickets are on sale at Sh 2500 per day (Saturday and Sunday)

Additional information Daily Nation

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *