Carl Tundo wins national title with Guru Nanak triumph

Five time national rally champion Carl “Flash” Tundo is the 2018 national champion after winning the Guru Nanak rally championships in Stoni Athi this weekend.

Tundo registered his sixth win of the season on the 39th edition of the championships after winning Eldoret, RSC, Nanyuki, KMSC and Safari rounds.

Navigated by Tim Jessop savored their second career back to back Guru Nanak Rally success as the Sikh Union round  marked its 39th edition in Machakos County.

Onkar Rai, winner of the season opening  round in Nakuru earlier in the year savored second overall on the season ender and third spot on the KNRC log.

Reigning African Rally Champion Manvir Singh Baryan who was the earlier pacesetter after clearing the ground with all his race adversaries on the first two stages completed the podium dash in a Skoda R5.

Legendary Ian Duncan won the SPV Class in fourth overall position whike the 2015 ARC and KNRC champion Jassi Chatthe, who last raced on Safari 2018, settled for fifth in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X.

Flash, who sealed the KNRC title on the penultimate Eldoret leg last month, celebrated his most successful season which saw him equal the longstanding Shekhar Mehta’s record of five Safari wins, over and above, the six 2018 wins he chalked up this season.

It was a bitter pill to swallow for Baldev Chager and Eric Bengi who kissed the Guru Nanak Rally goodbye following excruciating car gremlins.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *