Oduor Gangla elected KRU chairman

Former Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) Secretary General Oduor Gangla has been elected the union’s chairman today.

Gangla garnered 33 votes against then vice chairman Sasha Mutai’s 20 and former Kenya Commercial Bank’s Asiko Owiro who collected two votes to become the chairman with a total of 55 votes cast.

The chairman will now serve for four years after defying the government directive to stop the elections yesterday.

It was the second time of asking for Sasha who lost the KRU Chairmanship race after going down 25-23 to outgoing chair Richard Omwela in 2017. 

Gangla went into the elections as the current KRU Hon.Secretary and the new development means the KRU board will have a meeting to decide on who becomes the next secretary. 

Before joining KRU board in 2016, Gangla served as chairman for Kenya Cup side Impala Saracens. 

2019 Votes
1.Oduor Gangla -33
2.Sasha Mutai -20
3.Asiko Owiro- 2

Additional Information Raga House

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *