Gor battle Tusker in KPL season opener

Reigning Kenya Premier League (KPL) champions Gor Mahia will begin their title defence against former champions Tusker following the release of 2019/2020 KPL fixture.

As newly promoted side Wazito and Kisumu All Stars will start against Nzoia FC and Ulinzi Stars on Saturday 31st.

With the new system, the league will kick off on Saturday 31st August to May 24th retaining the 18 team league.

The Gor Mahia vs Tusker match will be played on Sunday 1st September at Kenyatta stadium in Machakos.

In other opening matches, former Shield Cup champions Kariobangi Sharks will take on Western Stima at Kasarani as former champions Mathare United welcome reigning Shield Cup champions Bandari FC in Kasarani with Sony Sugar hosts Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) at Awendo.

After remaining on the KPL following their two victories against Nairobi Stima in the promotion cum demotion play-offs, Posta Rangers will battle 2009 champions Sofapaka.

Former champions AFC Leopards will travel to Kakamega to play Kakamega Homeboyz on Sunday as Zoo Kericho welcomes Chemelil Sugar FC at Kericho Green Stadium.

KPL opening fixtures

 Saturday 31st August 2019

  1. Wazito vs Nzoia- Machakos
  2. Kisumu All Stars vs Ulinzi- Moi, Kisumu
  3. Kariobangi Sharks vs Western Stima- Kasarani
  4. Mathare United vs Bandari FC- Kasarani
  5. Sony Sugar vs KCB- Awendo

Sunday 1st September 2019

  • Posta Rangers vs Sofapaka – Machakos
  • Kakamega Homeboyz vs AFC Leopards- Bukhungu
  • Zoo Kericho vs Chemelil- Kericho
  • Gor Mahia vs Tusker- Machakos  
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *