Kariuki, Kipkurui top Lewa marathon

Emma Kariuki returned to the 20th edition of Lewa marathon with a win in the 42km race following her half marathon victory way back in 2008.

  As Duncan Maiyo Kipkurui claimed the men’s title as Maurice Munenen and Miriam Nakitare won 21km titles.

The 36 year old Kariuki won the women’s arec after 11 years in a slower time of 2:50.31 beating her closest rival Daisy Kipsugut with 13 minutes later when she clocked 3:03.03 as Mary Wairimu completed the podium timing 3:18.50.

“The heat was too much and the track very difficult, following the half marathon runners helped me a lot in increasing my pace. I had prepared very well but the race got difficult towards the end now am going back to the drawing board to prepare for the next race,” Kiruki said.

In men’s category, Kipkurui, the two time Brighton Marathon champion clocked 2:20.04 to win the race ahead of Samson Lemaiyan (2:22.52) and Edward Nderitu finished third in 2:24.31.

“I have been in training for the past two months preparing for this particular race, it felt like I was running in London, the support was massive.” Kipkurui said.

“I did not even now that I was leading because I was with the 21km runners but they dropped one after the other until I was left alone,” he added.

In the 21km race Morris Munene easily defended his title in a time of 1:06.06 ahead of John Elimlim (1:06.29) and Mike Boit (1:06.53)

“The competition was stiff but I had prepared well, I wanted to use the race to prepare for the year’s Berlin marathon.” Munene told citizen digital

In the women’s category, fresh from pacing assignment in China Miriam Nakitare won the 21km women’s race in a time of 1:15.11.

“I had prepared well for the race although when I started it was a little difficult but after 10km I saw the weakness in other competitors who could not take the hills easily and that is where I won the race.” Said Nakitare

Paulin Wangui (1:16.14) was second while Coroline nyaguthii (1:17.30) was third.

With the first lady Margaret Kenyatta being the chief Guest she joined over 1400 participants who took part in the event celebrating 20 years since inception on 2000. She took part in the 5km race.


42km Men

  1. Duncan Maiyo Kipkurui 2:20.04
  2. Samson Lemaiyan 2:22.52
  3. Edward Ndiritu 2:24.31

42km Women 

  1. Emma Muthoni Kiruki 2:50.31
  2. Daisy Kipsugut 3:03.03
  3. Mary Wairimu 3:18.50

21km Men

  1. Moris Munene 1:06.06
  2. John Elimlim 1:06.29
  3. Mike Boit 1:06.29

21km Women

  1. Miriam Nakitare 1:15.11
  2. Pauline Wangui 1.16.14
  3. Caroline Nyaguthii 1:17.12

Additional information Citizen Digital

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *