East Central Southern Africa Scrabble championships, Gitonga Nderitu, Muema Muumbi, Tom Mboya, Kipruto Tarus, Hillary Bushienei,

Nderitu Gitonga to lead Kenya team at WESPAC

Nderitu Gitong will lead a host of Kenyan Word Warriors, the national scrabble  team at the 2019 World English Language Scrabble Championships (WESPAC) to be hosted in Goa, India.

Gitonga will be joined by Bernard Koyyoko who will be making his debut after posting impressive results in Mombasa over the weekend.

Scrabble Kenya (SK) named a five member squad for the championships.

The Kenya One from Kirinyaga will be the captain with second seed Allan Oyende, Koyyoko, Onani Magwanga and Patrick Litunya.

SK chairman Bernard Amuke failed to make the cut after agonizingly missing the qualification by two points.

Despite missing the cut, SK chairman Amuke was jovial and congratulated the team as they prepare for the championships.

“It was not my day out but we are a team. I want to urge you to prepare very well for the championships and bring the title. You can also add the extra slot for Kenya in the next edition,” said Amuke.

Word Warriors team to India

  1. Nderitu Gitonga
  2. Allan Oyende
  3. Bernard Koyyoko
  4. Onani Magwanga
  5. Patrick Litunya
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *