Tirop, Kimeli retain Ziwa Farmers 10km titles

Former world cross country champion Agnes Jebet Tirop and Africa Junior cross country champion Nicholas Kipkorir Kimeli defended their Ziwa Farmers 10km Road Race ran today (Saturday 30th) in Uasin Gishu County.

Fresh from winning bronze in 10,000m at the world athletics championships in Doha, Qatar Tirop, broke the jinx in local races as she won a hat trick in the race with Kimeli, who was 5,000m finalists in Doha won a brace as he defended his title on a flat course in the race ran along Eldoret-Cherangeny Road in Ziwa.

After winning the inaugural Tuskys 10km great run last Sunday, Tirop defeated Sheila Chelangat to second, First Lady half marathon champion Brilliant Jepkorir third, reigning Frankfurt marathon champion Valary Aiyabei and former Africa 2,000m steeplechase champion Daisy Jepkemei for her third title in a row.

With her ambitions to run at 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo, Tirop braced the tape in 31:33.9 ahead of Chelangat, who failed to set a good revenge against Tirop after beating her last Sunday was second in 31:37.2 while Jepkorir, who finshed second to Tirop on Sunday completed the podium timing 31:46.7 in one of the hotly contested women race.

“When I ran last week in Eldoret, I felt that I was strong enough for today’s challenge and I managed to retain my title, which is good for me. I had prepared well and it is the right time to close the season on a high note,” said Tirop who trains in Iten.

It was the same script in men as Kimeli won his back to back titles at the race that has contunied to attract top runners.

Kimeli, who finished second at Tuskys 10km run in Eldoret cut the tape in 28:10.5 beating former Discovery Cross country champion Josephat kipchirchir (28:23.4) and upstarts Shadrack Kipngetich (28:35.2) and Weldon Kipkurui in 4th position.

“Defending the title is not easy and I managed to do it after a heavy competiton. I know I have a problem when it comes to finishing and I have to work on it in the new season,” said Kimeli.

Selected results


  1. Nicholas Kimeli- 28:10.5
  2. Josephat Kipchirchir- 28:23.4
  3. Shadrack Kipngetich- 28:35.2
  4. Weldon Kipkurui- 28:39.9
  5. Felix Kibet- 28:43.6
  6. Mark Kimket- 28:46.2


  1. Agnes Tirop- 31:33.9
  2. Sheila Chelangat- 31:37.2
  3. Brilliant Jepkorir- 31:46.7
  4. Valary Aiyabei- 31:50.0
  5. Daisy Jepkemei- 32:55.9
  6. Daisy Jerotich- 33:18.6  
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *