Twelve players to compete for Paralympic slots

Twelve players have been named in the squad for next month’s Africa Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games qualifiers in South Africa.

Those named are Rajab Abdalla of classification 2.0, Robert Kimotho (1.5), Kevin Njoroge (2.5), Alex Mburu (2.0) and Milton Ilahuya (2.5) have earned their maiden call up to the national team ahead of the event scheduled for March 4-14. Caleb Henry Odiyo (4.0), Itaken Timoi (2.0), Paul Muteti (4.0), Peter Karanja (3.0), Peter Nzioka (4.0), Peter Mungai (1.0) and Simon Ngugi (2.0).

Head coach Nick Ngumbi said the selection process was quite tough but feels he got the best players in each classification. He said many players displayed tremendous improvement in the past three months of training.

Kenya does not have a wheelchair basketball league hence players have been putting in extra work individually and outside of team training to sharpen their skills.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *