FOOTBALL Home Uncategorized

Rachier retains chairman’s post at Gor polls

Ambrose Rachier retained his seat at the Gor Mahia chairman for four successful times in the club elections held at the Moi International Sports Center (MISC) Kasarani indoor arena on Sunday.

He easily won the seat after beating his former Secretary General Chris Omondi and Dan Oketch, the other contenders for the chairman’s position, to land yet another term in office. Oketch came second in the race with 220 votes as Omondi managed 157.

On a day of high tensions, with the much awaited polls finally coming, the only man who could afford to rest easy was Francis Wasuna, who sailed through unopposed for the position of Senior Vice Chairman.

Calvince Okeyo Bungu was the first to sail through as the Assistant Treasurer after garnering 343 votes to see off the challenge of Gerphas Okuku who came second on 292 votes and Carilus Onyango who was third and last with 105 votes.

Curiously, all ladies vying for the various positions in the polls won easily. Former Kenya U20 Kits Manager Judith Nyangi Anyango bagged the Organizing Secretary’s position as Sally Bolo, a banker by profession, vying for the third time after unsuccessfully trying in the past, secured the Treasurer’s slot.

Beryl Peres Anyango completed the treble for the ladies with a win in the Assistant Organizing Secretary’s slot.

Radio presenter Joseph Ogidi Oyoo’s ambition to ascend to the Secretary’s slot was floored after he came last in a group of three contestants, after managing 213 votes to fall short of the winner Ben Omondi Odongo who garnered 310 votes. Kwenda Samuel Ochola got 282 votes.

Ronald Ngala shook off the challenge of Ruben William Ojijo to bag the Deputy Secretary General’s seat after garnering 402 votes compared to Ojijo’s 360 votes. While Ngala secured his return to office, his mate David Kilo fell by the way, losing to George Oria Ongudi.



1) Ambrose Otieno Rachier – 547

2) Chrispine Omondi – 157

3) Dan Oketch Ang’ila – 220

Senior Vice Chairman:

1) Francis Wasuna – Unopposed

1st Vice Chairman: 

1) John Pesa – 451

2) Faiz Ochieng – 334

2nd Vice Chairman: 

1) George Oria Ongudi – 447

2) David Oduol Kilo – 332

Secretary General:

1) Kwenda Samuel Ochola – 282

2) Ben Omondi Odongo – 310

3) Joseph Ogidi Oyoo – 213

Deputy Secretary General:

1) Ngala Ronald Ng’onga – 402

2) Ruben William Ojijo – 360

Assistant Deputy Secretary General: 

1) Kevin Odhiambo Mbuya – 500

2) John Ochieng Onyango – 203


1) Kennedy Ouma – 95

2) Sally Bolo – 370

3) Jared Odhiambo Omolo – 234

4) Chito Moses Njeria – 85

Assistant Treasurer: 

1) Gerphas Okuku Ogola – 292

2) Carilus Onyango – 105

3) Calvince Okeyo Bungu – 343

Organizing Secretary:

1) David Ochieng Nyandega – 198

2) Judith Anyango – 575

Assistant Organizing Secretary: 

1) Sammy Ochieng Ogola – 227

2) Beryl Peres Anyango – 480


Facebook Comments
Total Views: 741 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.