GOLF Home Uncategorized

Mary Chebukati exits, June Waweru enters as chairlady of the Kenya Ladies Golf Union

The handicap 15 Waweru, who joined the KLGU council in 2013 as a council member and served for two years, was elected unopposed to take over from Royal Nairobi’s Mary Wanyonyi Chebukati during the union’s annual general meeting held soon after the KLGU chairman’s Prize at Royal at the weekend. During the elections which took less than an hour, Lucy Muhinga, also from Muthaiga, was also elected vice chairlady unopposed.

The two joint secretaries – Margaret Thande of Karen and Windsor Golf and Country Club’s Phyliss Kimbo – also retained their positions.

Also to retain her position during the meeting by representatives of various clubs in the country was Rosemary Olonde of Vet Lab Sports Club.

The elected councillors are Nancy Steinmann of Nakuru, Mercy Wambugu (Karen), Terry Obath (Muthaiga), Rita Shah (Sigona), S. Loveday (Karen), Lydia Obonyo (Machakos).

The regional representatives are Leah Luchvya (Kakamega-Western), Cherry Bush (Coast) and Stella Mwangi (Nyeri-Central).

Meanwhile, at Thika Sports Club, Simon Mburu carded 21 and 19 for a total of 40 points to win the Johnnie Walker Golf series. He won by two points from Wanjau Gathuri, Jonathan Ciano, Mahesh Patel and Ayub Macharia.

Linda Kinyua posted 35 points to beat Dorcas Njogu and Betty Ndenderu on countback. Nyanza Golf Club’s David Sate was the best guest on 36. The sponsors prize went to Nderitu Kamugi (27).

Lady golfer Teresia Wainaina won the first nine after posting 21 points while the second nine went to Paul Waweru on 19 points. The event attracted a field of 250.

Daily Nation

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 590 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.