Cyrus Rutto, Mohamed Farah, Mo Farah, Paul Kipkemboi Chelimo, Muktar Edris, Almaz Ayana, Benjamin Limo,

IAAF World championships: Cyrus Rutto loses 5,000m title,finishes last

Kenyan Cyrus Rutto failed to live his expectations to win the first ever gold for Kenya in 5,000m at IAAF world championships that was last won by Benjamin Limo in Finland’s Helsinki in 2005.

Rutto was the only Kenyan in the 12 lap race after his country mate failed to qualify as Muktar Edris from Ethiopia as home boy Mohammed Farah takes silver.

Edris won the race in 13:32.79 to win the second gold for Ethiopia after Almaz Ayana won the 10,000m women race.

Farah,who will be retiring from track races to marathon came second in 13:33.22 and Kenyan born tuned American Paul Kipkemboi Chelimo taking bronze in 13:33.30.

But the only hope for Kenya Rutto finished 13th overall clocking 13:48.54.


Facebook Comments
Total Views: 368 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.