Bob Obondy, Bayer East Africa, bayer east Africa Golf, Nakuru Golf club, Sarabjit Sagoo, Bayer East Africa, bayer east Africa Golf, Ashok Patel, Bob Obondy, Margaret Cheptumo, Zaheer Fazal, Sarat Singh

Kabeberi sevens: Driftwood champions Homeboyz in pool A

Last weekend, Menengai Homeboyz RFC won the Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) circuit opener in Mombasa’s Driftwood7s, is in top seed at the Kabeberi sevens set for this weekend in Nairobi’s RFUEA ground.

Homeboyz beat Top Fry Nakuru in the final 17-07 to lift the title as they prepare to face Nondies, Mwamba and Daystar Falcons in poll A after the draw was released on Tuesday.

After failing to Homeboyz, Nakuru is in pool B alongside SportPesa Quins, KCB and Resolution Kisii in what is called pool of death.

Pool C has Menengai Oilers together with Kabeberi champions Resolution Impala Saracens, Blak Blad and the Catholic Monks.

Pool D comprises Mean Machine, Kabras Sugar and Makueni who are in the top tier this weekend by virtue of winning the Division 2 Cup final at the Driftwood Sevens last weekend.

It was first played in 1986 to commemorate the passing away of the charismatic George Mwangi Kabeberi, one of the founding members of the Mwamba club.

Over the years, the significance of the tournament has been expanded to honour departed club members, including recently departed Leeroy Okara, Absalom “Bimbo” Mutere, Abedeen Shikoyi, and Jimmy Owino and lately Victor Wayodi among others.

Kabeberi Sevens Pools

Pool A: Menengai Cream Homeboyz, Nondescripts, Mwamba, Daystar Falcons

Pool B: Top Fry Nakuru, SportPesa Quins, KCB, Resolution Kisii

Pool C: Menengai Oilers, Resolution Impala Saracens, Blak Blad, Catholic Monks

Pool D: Mean Machine, Kabras Sugar, Strathmore Leos, Makueni

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 396 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.