Boston Marathon, Edna Kiplagat, Geoffrey Kirui, IAAF, Wesley Korir, Mary Keitany, Priscah Jeptoo, Florence Kiplagat

Boston Marathon: Edna Kiplagat, Geoffrey Kirui to defend their titles

Boston marathon winners Edna Kiplagat and Geoffrey Kirui will be the top runners at the 2018 edition after organizers included them in the provisional list.

Kiplagat, the double IAAF World Marathon champion won this year’s edition clocking 2:21.52 on her debut becoming the fourth fastest runner on the course.

But the Iten based runner, immediately went to compete at the 2017 IAAF world championships in London but she managed a silver medal, failing a hat trick after she won 2011 in Daegu, South Korea and 2013 in Moscow, Russia.

Just like Kiplagat, Kirui who was making Boston marathon debut won the race, went ahead to win the 2017 IAAF world marathon title in London.

Kirui’s win broke the jinx of Kenyans failing to win the title since 2012 that was last won by then Cherangany legislature Wesley Korir.

“In their Boston debuts last April, both Geoffrey and Edna raced with confidence from the start, pulled away late, and solidified their spots in Boston Marathon lore,” said Boston Athletic Association CEO Tom Grilk. “We’re excited to welcome these world-class athletes back.”

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 440 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.