Eldoret International Airport, Amsterdam Marathon, Lawrence Cherono, Daniel Wanjiru, Nobert Kigen, Dr. Gabriela Rosa, Rosa Associati, Abraham Kiptum,

Honolulu marathon: Lawrence Cherono, Brigid Kosgei wins with course record

Lawrence Cherono and Brigid Kosgei defended their Honolulu marathon titles with course records ran on Sunday 10th in the world’s Super power United States of America.

The Kenya duo set new records, improving on what they won last year in the 45th edition of the 42km distance as world marathon record holder failed to impress, dropping off the way.

After winning Amsterdam marathon race, Cherono started preparing to defend the title and his preparations proved worth.

Cherono led the podium sweep for Kenyan runners, defending the title where he recorded 2016 title at 2:09.39 but he lowered his own time to 2:08.27, shading off one minute, 12 seconds.

Before traveling to Honolulu, Cherono spoke to Dailysport.co.ke  that he was going for nothing else apart from defending his title and course record.

Also read http://dailysport.co.ke/2017/11/21/honolulu-marathon-lawrence-cherono-to-defend-title-lower-time/

“My target is to defend my title and lower that time,” said Cherono in a past interview before going for the race.

After winning the race, Cherono said: “I am happy again because I came here for a second time and breaking a course record is a great achievement to me.”

He beat four time Amsterdam marathon champion Wilson Chebet to second timing 2:09:55. New comer and Iten based Vincent Yator came in third at 2:10:37.

Cherono, who broke Jimmy Muindi’s 2004 record of 2:11:12 last year, ran alone through Kahala, up the Diamond Head climb and into Kapiolani Park to lower the mark again.

Kosgei crossed the finish line at Kapiolani Park at 2:22:15 to smash the previous record of 2:27:19 set by Lyubov Denisova in 2006.

Kosgei led other Kenyans Nancy Kiprop to second in 2:29:15 and Joyce Chepkirui, the 2014 and 2015 champion to third in 2:33:17.

Lead results


  1. Lawrence Cherono-2:08.27
  2. Wilson Chebet-2:09.55
  3. Vincent Yator-2:10.37


  1. Brigid Kosgei-2:22.15
  2. Nancy Kiprop-2:29.15
  3. Joyce Chepkirui-2:33.17
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 88 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.