ICC under 19: Sachin Bhudia named the captain

Sachin Bhudia will captain the Kenyan team to next month’s ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in Christchurch, New Zealand.

The team was named today comprising of 15-man team in the global event slated for January 6 to February 4, 2018.

Sixteen teams will be participate in the competition, which will see Kenya make a return since their last appearance in 2002, when the tourney was jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Kenya is drawn in Pool ‘A’ against champions West Indies, 2014 champions South Africa and hosts New Zealand.

Kenya will play two warm up matches against Canada and India on January 9 and 11 respectively.

The East African side will open their campaign against South Africa on January 14, before taking on New Zealand on January 17, which will be followed by a final group fixture against West Indies on January, 20.

The top two teams from the group stage will progress to the quarter finals while the bottom two sides will enter the plate event.

The team, which is coached by former international Jimmy Kamande, will leave on December 29.


Sachin Bhudia (captain), Thomas Ochieng, Ankit Hirani, Abhishekh Chidambaran, Aman Gandhi, Aveet Desai, Dennis Musyoka, Gerard Mwendwa, Jasraj Kundi, Jayant Mepani, Maxwel Ager, Sukhdeep Singh, Jay Doshi, Rene Were and Siddharth Vasudev.

Technical bench: Jimmy Kamande (Head coach), Josphat Irungu (Assistant coach), Sunil Sarkar (Team Manager), Moses Muturi and Sriram Krishnamurthy (Physiotherapists)

Additional information Daily Nation

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 597 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.