Helah Kiprop, Ednah Kiplagat, Flomena Cheyech, Flomena Cheyech Daniels, Mare Dibaba, Daniel Wanjiru, Gideon Kipketer, Geoffrey Kirui, Geoffrey Kirui, Abel Kirui, Felix Simbu, Tamirat Tola, Daniel Wanjiru, Gideon Kipketer,. Daniel Wanjiru

World Marathon Majors: Edna Kiplagat tops

Double world marathon champion Edna Kiplagat was declared the winner of the World Marathon Majors (WMM) jackpot winner.

The reigning Boston marathon, who took over the reign of banned Rita Jeptoo scooped Kshs 51.5 million, hitting another prize when she won the 2010/11 and 2013/14 seasons, joins compatriot Eliud Kipchoge who won the men’s title for a second year running.

Kiplagat topped the leaderboard with 41 points in this year’s Abbott WMM series, which concluded at the 2017 Boston Marathon.

Abbott WMM redistributed its series prize money structure to recognize and reward the top three leaderboard athletes for Series XI (11th edition), which is now underway

Kiplagat, 38, is now, along with Irina Mikitenko of Germany, a three-time AbbottWMM champion as she also won the title at the end of the fifth and eighth editions.

“I am very happy and proud to have won the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series X (10th edition) title. They say that good things come in threes, and that has been true for me this year. At Boston this spring, I was able to win in my third different AbbottWMM city,” Kiplagat said.

“Then in the summer I was able to win my third World Championship Marathon medal. And now I have won the AbbottWMM championship for the third time,” she added.

“I have always wanted to challenge myself at the highest levels of our sport, and these marathons have provided me with that opportunity. I look forward to again racing against the world’s best women at the AbbottWMM events in 2018.

Kiplagat is receiving the AbbottWMM Series X title following the completion of the doping investigation process for Jemima Sumgong, who has been banned for four years by the Anti Doping Agency of Kenya (ADAK) for her use of EPO.

Any athlete who has been found guilty of an anti-doping violation is not eligible to win an AbbottWMM Series title and is banned for life from all AbbottWMM events.

At the 2017 Boston Marathon, Kiplagat beat Rose Chelimo (BHR) and Jordan Hasay (USA) as she clocked 2:21:52 to win the women’s race.

She opened up an unassailable lead just after the 30K mark, powering up the famous Heartbreak Hill before taking on the broad downtown roads alone towards the finish line.

She was embraced by her son Carlos and her daughter Wendy at the finish line. In October 2016, Kiplagat edged ahead of ​ fellow Kenyan Valentine Kipketer​ in the final few kilometers to take second behind ​her compatriot ​Florence Kiplagat​ in the 2016 Chicago Marathon, finishing in 2:23:28.

The Abbott World Marathon Majors is a collective of the world’s top six marathons: the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin Money London, BMW BERLIN, Bank of America Chicago and TCS New York City Marathons.

AbbottWMM awards its annual title to the men’s and women’s runners and wheelchair athletes who earn the most points within a one-year cycle of performances at its six races as well as the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games and IAAF World Championships when they occur.

AbbottWMM Series XI continues at the Feb. 25, 2018 Tokyo Marathon. Kiplagat will return to defend her title at the Boston Marathon on April 16, 2018, before Series XI concludes at the April 22, 2018 Virgin Money London Marathon.

Additional information Capital Sports

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 122 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.