Asbel Kiprop, Elijah Manangoi, Timothy Cheruiyot, Ronald Kwemoi, Jakub Holusa,

Antrim Cross Country: Timothy Cheruiyot, Margaret Chelimo takes new year’s titles

Reigning 1,500m silver medalist Timothy Cheruiyot and Margaret Chelimo were the winners of the Antrim International cross country championships as the year opener.

Cheruiyot beat Ethiopia’s Mogos Tuemay and Morocco’s world steeplechase silver medalist Soufiane Elbakkali in third.

Cheruiyot won the race in (23:12) same to Tuemay in a sprint finish while Elbakkali came third and Vernon in fourth.

Margaret Chelimo Kipkemboi became the third different Kenyan in as many years to win the women’s race in Antrim, finishing just one second ahead of Ethiopia’s Fotyen Tesfay in 19:55.

Chelimo won the race in 19:55.

Collated results


1 Timothy Cheruiyot (KEN) 23:12

2 Mogos Tuemay (ETH) 23:12

3 Soufiane Elbakkali (MAR) 23:32

4 Andy Vernon (GBR) 23:41

5 Kristian Mark Jones (GBR) 23:45


1 Margaret Chelimo Kipkemboi (KEN) 19:55

2 Fotyen Tesfay (ETH) 19:56

3 Bontu Edao Rebitu (BRN) 19:59

4 Verity Ockenden (GBR) 20:17

5 Alemitu Hawi (ETH) 20:17

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 122 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.