Elias Kiptum, Elias Makori, Bank Of Africa, Dennis Kimetto, wilson kipsang, Kenenisa Bekele, Emmanuel Mutai, Stanley Biwott, Haile Gebrselassie, Jeremiah Kayago

Tokyo marathon: Wilson Kipsang to defend title

Former world marathon record holder Wilson Kipsang will be defending his Tokyo marathon title after he was drafted in the elite team in the IAAF Gold Label Road Race set for February in Japanese Capital.

The two time London marathon champion ran the fastest time on the course 2:05.42 as well as last year winner Sarah Chepchirchir.

The race will be between Kenyan and Ethiopian runners especially in men’s category that includes former champions on the course.

The Kenyan runner will be joined by running mates Dickson Chumba, the 2014 champion, Vincent Kipruto, Amos Kipruto, Gideon Kipketer and Bernard Kipyego.

The Kenyans will face off with Ethiopians Tesfaye Abera, Tsegaye Mekonnen and 2016 champion Feyisa Lilesa.

Former world half marathon silver medalist Helah Kiprop will be assisted by 2017 Paris Marathon champion Purity Cherotich Rionoripo. The duo were the only Kenyan runners invited at the annual race, which I part of the World Marathon majors (WMM).

Kprop won the race in 2016 in 2:21.27, becoming the first Kenyan to win the race and opened the door for Kenyans as Chepchirchir ran the fastest time in 2017 (2:19.47).

She will face off with Ruti Aga from Ethiopia, Shure Demise (Ethiopia), 2015 champion Birhane Dibaba (Ethiopia), Anna Hahner (Great Britain), Amy Cragg (USA) and Meseret Defar of Ethiopia.


Selected team


  1. Wilson Kipsang (KEN)
  2. Tesfaye Abera (ETH)
  3. Dickson Chumba (KEN)
  4. Tsegaye Mekonnen (ETH)
  5. Feyisa Lilesa (ETH)
  6. Vincent Kipruto (KEN)
  7. Amos Kipruto (KEN)
  8. Gideon Kipketer (KEN)
  9. Bernard Kipyego (KEN)



  1. Ruti Aga (ETH)
  2. Purity Cherotich Rionoripo (KEN)
  3. Shure Demise (ETH)
  4. Birhane Dibaba (ETH)
  5. Helah Kiprop (KEN)
  6. Anna Hahner (GER)
  7. Amy Cragg (USA)
  8. Meseret Defar (ETH
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 102 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.