Brigid Kosgei, Vivian Kiplagat, Valery Aiyabei, Delvine Reline, Visiline Jepkesho, Rose Chelimo, Josephat Kipchirchir, Alfred Barkach, Nicholas Kipkorir, Emmanuel Bor, Mathew Kimeli, Julius Kogo, Roselinda Jepketer, Agnes Jebet Ng’etich, Janet Chepkoech, Lydia Cheruto, Caren Chebet, Ann Kasisho, Rhonex Kipruto, Edward Zakayo, Vincent Kiprotich, Kennedy Kimutai, Sila Kiptoo, Gilbert Kimunyan

Cross Country championships: Central Rift selects team

Fresh from winning Discovery Cross Country championships in Eldoret, Josphat Kipchirchir will lead Central Rift at the next month’s national cross country championships cum national trials for the 5th edition of Africa Cross Country championships set for Algeria.

After failing to host regional championships, Central Rift officials used Discovery Kenya cross country to select a team. Last weekend, Nandi and Baringo hosted their county championships but Uasin Gishu did not manage.

Emmaculate Jebet will be flying 10km senior women category while Roselinda Jepketer and Rhonex Kipruto will be in junior races.

On Sunday, Kipchirchir from Nandi County will be joined by Baringo’s Alfred Barkach, Uasin Gishu’s Nicholas Kiptum, Emmanuel Bor (Nandi), Julius Kogo (Nandi) and former World Youth champion Richard Kimunyan from Baringo.

Kipchirchir won the race 30:23.1, with Nandi taking three slots, baringo two and one from Uasin Gishu.

Nandi’s Emmaculate Jebet will be on the starting list for 10km women race. Jebet willjoin Maurine Jepkemoi (Nandi), Hellen Jepkurgat (Nandi), Rebecca Jepchirchir (Baringo), Gloria Kite (Uasin Gishu) and Alice Koech of Baringo.

Nandi enjoyed the masses with three positions as Baringo has two and Uasin Gishu’s one post.

World Under 18 800m silver medalist Lydia Jeruto will lead the 6km junior women from Baringo together with Discovery 2018 champion Roselinda Jepketer (Nandi), Agnes Jebet Ng’etich (Uasin Gishu), Monica Chirchir (Baringo), Nesphine Jepleting (Nandi) and Nancy Jesang of Nandi.

2018 Discovery champion and former Secondary schools champion Rhonex Kipruto (Baringo) will be joined by Kennedy Kimutai (Uasin Gishu), Richard Kimunyan (Baringo) Evans Keitany (Uasin Gishu), Lameck Kimutai (Nandi) and Justus Soget of Baringo.

Selected team

10km senior men

  1. Josphat Kipchirchir (Nandi)
  2. Alfred Barkach (Baringo)
  3. Nicholas Kiptum (uasin Gishu)
  4. Emmanuel Bor (Nandi)
  5. Julius Kogo (Nandi)
  6. Richard Kimunyan (Baringo)

10km senior women

  1. Emmaculate Jebet (Nandi)
  2. Maurine Jepkemoi (Nandi)
  3. Hellen Jepkurgat (Nandi)
  4. Rebecca Jepchirchir (Baringo)
  5. Gloria Kite (Uasin Gishu)
  6. Alice Koech (Baringo)

8km junior men

  1. Rhonex Kipruto (Baringo)
  2. Kennedy Kimutai (Uasin Gishu)
  3. Gilbert Kimunyan (Baringo)
  4. Evans Keitany (Uasin Gishu)
  5. Lameck Kimutai (Nandi)
  6. Justus Soget (Baringo)

6km junior women

  1. Roselinda Jepketer (Nandi)
  2. Agnes Jebet Ng’etich (Uasin Gishu)
  3. Lydia Jeruto (Babringo)
  4. Monica Chirchir (Baringo)
  5. Nesphine Jepleting (Nandi)
  6. Nancy Jesang (Uasin Gishu)
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 102 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *