Eldoret City Marathon: Sharon Cherop, Elkana Yego are the champions

Former Boston champion Sharon Cherop and local road runner Elkana Kibet Yego were the winners of the inaugural Eldoret City marathon held today in Eldoret.

The 2011 world marathon bronze medalist came from a sabbatical leave ran on her own to claim the title afterv stepping into the lead at 5km in a race that started at Kaprobu area in Uasin Gishu County before ending in Eldoret town.

Cherop, the 2012 Boston marathon champion, who faced little challenge from top notch runners like Lydia Cheromei and Jane Seurei, Cherop won in 2:29.57 despite falling at 30km.

This fall was a replica of 2011 Daegu world championships Edna Kiplagat fell and Cherop, with her team’s work spirit, lifted Kiplagat, who went ahead to win her first gold medal.

With her experience in road race, Cherop said the course was tactical than hard work.

“I have come back and I people should much from me. The body has recovered well after competing in Rome a fortnight ago,” said Cherop.

In men’s category, two time Kisumu marathon champion Elkana Yego won the after overtaking probable winner Philip Kangogo.

Yego, who trains under Kangogo, the race was reduced coach-student affair.

Kangogo, the 2015 Barcelona marathon champion led from 10km but after 38km, Yego overtook nhim and went ahead to claim the title as Kangogo came second.

Yego said the course was good and could not fail; to come home with a win.

“Ah happy to run with my coach and Kangogo has more experience in marathon but beating him was not easy.

He timed 2:12.1 ahead of Kangogo’s 2:12.49 and upstart Brian Kipsang ending the podium in 2:12.52.

Selected results



  1. Elkana Yego-2:12.1
  2. Philip Kangogo-2:12.49
  3. Brian Kipsang-2:12.52
  4. Ezekiel Kibiwott-2:13.02
  5. David Tarus-2:13.05
  6. Stanley Bett-2:13.05
  7. Samuel Longol -2:14.5
  8. Emmanuel Ndiwa -2:15.19
  9. David Kipkoech-2:15.19
  10. Jacob Kimutai-2:16.20


  1. Sharon Cherop-2:29.57
  2. Lydia Cheromei-2:33.25
  3. Jane Seurei-2:33.46
  4. Maureen Kipkemoi-2:34.13
  5. Jackline Jepng’eno-2:35.08
  6. Eunice Chebichii-2:35.34
  7. Peris Kiprono-2:36.17
  8. Eunice Cheptoo-2:37.0
  9. Beatrice Rutto-2:39.36
  10. Gladys Yator-2:39.52
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 703 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.