Oyende, Gitonga leads Word Warriors for continental Scrabble Championships title

Kenya will be seeking to improve from their silver medal they won two years ago to win the 13th edition of Africa Scrabble Championships that gets underway this weekend at Destination Resort in Kirinyaga County.

Hosting the continental showpiece for the fourth time, Word Warriors will be using home advantage to redeem their winning ways in the tournament that has attracted top Africa and world scrabble players.

Top seed players Allan Oyende, Patrick Gitonga and Bernard Koyyoko will be on board to deliver the title as the try to outwit reigning World English Scrabble Players Champions (WESPAC) champions Nigeria.

The Word Warriors won silver during the 2016 bi-annual event hosted in Ghana as Oyende, who has dominated Kenyan tournaments as well as Gitonga and Koyyoko will be working their way to win the title, which Kenya has never won.

The national team has been awarded 25 slots as hosts, ten above the normal players of 15.

The East, Central, and Southern Africa (ECASA) Scrabble championships champions will be using home ground advantage to claim the continental title ahead of WESPAC championships next year in Goa, India.

The ECASA silver medalist Zambia were the first to arrive on Tuesday led by the captain Isaac Mwape who promised a stiff competition.

Past ASC Winners

  1. 1994 (Kenya) Ifeanyi Onyeonwu NGR.
  2. 1996 (Nigeria) Femi Awowade NGR
  3. 1998 (South Africa) Jimoh Saheed NGR
  4. 2000 (Ghana) Moshood Sanni NGR
  5. 2002 (Kenya) Trevor Hovelmeier SA
  6. 2004 (Tanzania) Dennis Ikekeregor NGR
  7. 2006 (Nigeria) Dennis Ikekeregor NGR
  8. 2008 (Kenya) Jighere Wellington NGR
  9. 2010 (Ghana) Jighere Wellington NGR
  10. 2012 (Zambia) Ogbakpa Rex NGR
  11. 2014 (South Africa) Nsikak Etin NGR
  12. 2016 (Ghana) Saidu Ayorinde NGR
  13. 2018 (Kenya)…
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *