Brigid Kosgei, Vivian Kiplagat, Valery Aiyabei, Delvine Reline, Visiline Jepkesho, Rose Chelimo, Josephat Kipchirchir, Alfred Barkach, Nicholas Kipkorir, Emmanuel Bor, Mathew Kimeli, Julius Kogo, Roselinda Jepketer, Agnes Jebet Ng’etich, Janet Chepkoech, Lydia Cheruto, Caren Chebet, Ann Kasisho, Rhonex Kipruto, Edward Zakayo, Vincent Kiprotich, Kennedy Kimutai, Sila Kiptoo, Gilbert Kimunyan

Brigid Kosgei beats Hellen Obiri to claim Madrid 10km title

Chicago marathon champion Brigid Kosgei ended the 2018 on a high note by winning the San Silvester Vallecana Madrid 10km road race defeating Commonwealth Games 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri who was making a debut in road running.

Experienced road runner Kosgei led a 1-2 finish for Kenyan runners in the Spanish Capital on Monday night to usher in  new year in style.

the two time Honolulu marathon champion clocked 29:54 to claim the title ahead of Obiri’s 29:59 before Tirunesh Dibaba of Ethiopia completed the podium in 30:40.

In men’s race, Ugandan world cross country junior champion Jacob Kiplimo ran the fastest time in 10km road race to win the title.

He timed 26:41 ahead of compatriot Abdi Hadis (26:54) and Ugandan Mande Bushendich completing the podium in 27:24.

Despite running a world record, the downhill nature of the course, can’t count as a world record, but it is still a notable performance as it took 13 seconds off the previous race record set by Eliud Kipchoge back in 2006.

Selected results


  1. Jacob Kiplimo (UGA)- 26:41
  2. Abadi Hadis (ETH)- 26:54
  3. Mande Bushendich (UGA)- 27:24


  1. Brigid Kosgei (KEN)- 29:54
  2. Hellen Obiri (KEN)- 29:59
  3. Tirunesh Dibaba (ETH)-30:40
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 115 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.