Kenya to host Africa Cricket championships

Kenya will face-off with Botswana and Cameroon when they host the inaugural Africa Twenty20 Cup next month in the Africa Cricket Association (ACA).

The continental championships will bat off from March 22 to 27where smaller African teams Uganda, Nigeria, Ghana, Malawi, Botswana, Mozambique and Cameroon are among others will compete.

In the two pool tournament, Kenya leads pool B alongside Botswana, Mozambique and Cameroon while neighbours Uganda are in pool A alongside Nigeria, Ghana, Malawi.

Kenya will open their campaign against Botswana on Day One before taking on Cameroon on the next day and winding up their group stage matches on February 25th against Mozambique.

Late last year, Kenya finished second from the bottom of the ICC Cricket World Cup Challenge League Group B in Oman thus worsening their chances of returning to top flight cricket.

By dropping down to Division 3, Kenya also lost the ODI status that was accorded to the country in 1997 after some good show in mid-90’s that included beating West Indies in the 1996 World Cup.

Africa Cricket pooling

Pool A: Uganda, Nigeria, Ghana and Malawi

Pool B. Kenya, Botswana, Mozambique and Cameroon.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *