How juniors Keter, Were, Chepkoech, Chepkirui, Kibet shone at Kip Keino Classic

World under 20 1,500m champion Vincent Kibet Keter and World under 20 800m bronze medalist Noah Kipruto Kibet led other junior runners to dominate the Kip Keino Classic, the World Athletics Continental Tour Gold Meeting at the Kasarani stadium on Saturday.

As it was written, the top juniors, who won the overall title at the World under 20 athletics championships last month at the same venue flew the Kenyan flag on home soil, securing many top positions to mark the end of World Athletics track and field events.

Keter from Rongai Athletics club (RAC) under coach Bernard Ouma defeated bigwigs to win the 1,500m title by clocking 3:35.99 to edge out Moroccan Abdellatif Sadiki to second place in 3:36.63 and Ethiopia Kasaye Adehena came in third in 3:38.18 which was a good start into senior ranks.

Peter Kithome

He said that he is ripe for big things and to wrestle with big boys in the industry.

“Winning this race was good for me and I am sure that I am now ripe to face off with kings of track,” said Keter.

As Keter shone in men’ Purity Chepkirui, who won the 1,500m title at the world under 20 failed to shine, finishing a disappointing 12th position timing 4:21.01 in a race won by two time Olympic 1,500m champion and her mentor Faith Kipyegon Chepngetich.

Agnes Mutindi Ngumbi

On her facebook page, Chepkirui congratulated Kipyegon with her win.

“My dream has come to pass …met my icon mentor Faith Kipyegon. Her encouragement & Motivation is pleasing. Promise to take up her mantle when time is up,” wrote on her page, splashing their photos relaxing.

Kennedy Kimeu after qualifying

Kibet, who won 800m bronze medal at world under 20 shed off bigwigs for the two lap race title.

Kibet beat a strong field that included Olympic silver medalist Ferguson Rotich to win in 1:44.98.

Kibet won bronze at the under 20 behind champion Emmanuel Wanyonyi who won gold with a championship record. But Sheila Chepkosgei, who was disqualified at the under 20 semifinals due to lane infringement finished the two lap race in 9th position timing 2:07.65.

Wiseman Were Mukhobe and Peter Kithome faced off again in the 400m hurdles as the first race of the day. In a race won by Nicholas Kiprotich Chirchir, Mukhobe managed the second position timing 50.44 with Kithome coming in third position in 50.54.

It was a similar score for Agnes Mutindi Ngumbi, who failed to sparkle in women’s 400m hurdles finishing in 5th position timing 61:84 with the title going to All Africa 400m hurdles Venice Kerubo.

Kennedy Kimeu, who finished last in the 400m at the under 20 46:51 seconds, managed to finish 5th at the championships after timing 47.07 failing to beat his under 20 time.

However, Kimeu anchored the 4x400m men’s relay to win bronze at the championships alongside Joshua Wanyonyi, Elkanah Kiprotich and Kithome who timed 3:05.94.

Noah Kibet

He was also part of the 4x100m relay team that was disqualified on the opening day of the championships due to lane infringement.

World under 20 3,000m steeplechase champion Amos Serem and world under20 3,000m steeplechase champion Jackline Chepkoech finished 4th and 3rd timing 8:25.30 and 9:33.64 respectively.

Benson Kiplagat win gold as levy Kibet win silver

Serem, who led compatriot Simon Kibet for bronze was today beaten to 4th in men’s 3,000m steeplechase title chase while Chepkoech led Faith Cherotich to bronze was third in women’s race.

“The win today is a motivation as I want to compete for Kenya at the world championships and Commonwealth Games next year. I have gained enough experience in these races and big names,” said Chepkoech.

Amos serem

Benson Kiplangat won the first gold for Kenya in 5,000m at world under 20 athletics faced a stiff competition from bigwigs to settle for position three in 5,000m.

Kiplangat (13:20.37), who retained the title last won by Edward Zakayo Pingua in Tampere, Finland led Levy Kibet (13:26.01) winning bronze with Ethiopia’s Tadese Worku (13:20.65) sneaking in the second for silver.

On Saturday, he timed 13:25.28 behind winner Jacob Krop (13:23.50) and Nicholas Kipkorir Kimeli (13:23.99).

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 660 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *