Anami, Omolla in maiden Simba call up squad

Bethwel Anami and George Omolla have received their maiden call up into the Simbas, the national rugby15s team ahead of South Africa Tour in November.

The Nondescript and Mwamba players are among the 40 provisional players list that were named by head coach Paul Odera that will be reporting into the training ground  

“We based selection on footage and data from players who played really well against Zambia in the last test; the wider training squad; the overseas based players and a few others who may have stood out in the Kenya Cup season and may have missed out on selection earlier in the year,” said Odera.

The Tour starts on November 6th playing against Namibia, Brazil and Zimbabwe in the Stellenbosch Quadrangular Tournament from 14th November.

The Stellenbosch Quadrangular will be played on a knockout basis with direct semifinals on 14th November with the placing playoff and final on 20th November. 

The Simbas will also play an international friendly in Bloemfontein on 25th November against an opponent who will be confirmed in due course.

Kenya Rugby Union Chairman Oduor Gangla welcomed the additional fixtures in Stellenbosch, saying, “We appreciate the efforts made by World Rugby in ensuring that the Simbas get to play high profile test fixtures. The experience and exposure from these test matches is a vital step in our preparations for next year’s Rugby World Cup qualifiers.”

Simbas November itinerary

6th November 2021 – Carling Champions Match, Pretoria – vs Currie Cup Select

14th November 2021 – Stellenbosch Quadrangular, Stellenbosch – vs Namibia (Direct Semi Final)

20th November 2021 – Stellenbosch Quadrangular, Stellenbosch  – vs TBC

25th November 2021 –  International Friendly, Bloemfontein –  TBC

Simbas Training Squad for November internationals

Forwards: Ian Njenga (Nondescripts), Nesta Okotch (Impala Saracens), Joseph Odero (Kabras Sugar), Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar), Griffin Musila (KCB), Boniface Ochieng (Kenya Harlequin), Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar), Patrick Ouko (KCB), Melvin Thairu (Kenya Harlequin), George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar), Thomas Okeyo (Nakuru), Emmanuel Silungi (Homeboyz), Brian Juma (Kabras Sugar), Joshua Chisanga (Kenya Harlequin), Bethwel Anami* (Strathmore Leos), George Omolla* (Mwamba), Dan Sikuta (Kabras Sugar), Brian Amaitsa (Nondescripts), Fidel Oloo (Nondescripts), Steve Sakari (Kabras Sugar), Elkeans Musonye (Impala Saracens), Tony Owuor (Mwamba)

Backs: Samson Onsomu (Impala Saracens), Barry Robinson (Kabras Sugar), Brian Wahinya (Blak Blad), Jone Kubu (Kabras Sugar), Charles Kuka (Mwamba), Brian Tanga (Kabras Sugar), Timothy Okwemba (Menengai Oilers), Derrick Ashiundu (Kabras Sugar), John Okoth (Nakuru), Vincent Onyala (KCB), Samuel Asati (KCB), Peter Kilonzo (KCB), Darwin Mukidza (KCB), Michael Kimwele (KCB), Jacob Ojee (KCB), Isaac Njoroge (KCB), Anthony Odhiambo (Impala Saracens), Andrew Matoka (Strathmore Leos)

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 1667 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *