Chepchumba, Meli are Kenyans best volleyballers

Malkia Strikers Sharon Chepchumba and wafalme Spikers Brain Meli were awarded the Most Valuable Player (MVP) during the inaugural Heroes Community Volleyball Tournament played at the Koitaleel University College grounds in Nandi County over the weekend.

Chepchumba who plays for Kenya Prisons and Meli who plays for Kenya Volleyball Federation league champions General Service Unit (GSU) were awarded following their fighting spirit for the national teams that recorded best results at the international tournaments that involved their clubs and national teams.

During the award ceremony, KVF vice president David Charles Nyaberi said that the duo have played a critical role for the nation and deserves such accolades.

“These are great people in our teams both nationally and the clubs. They have been consistent and showed their talents on top of the world,” said Nyaberi.

Kenya Prisons hitter Pamela Masaisai and Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) Aggrey Bungei were rewarded as the most improved players of 2021.

Masaisai, who was injured before the Malkia strikers travelled to Tokyo. Japan for the Olympic Games, returned into action for her Kenya Prisons team to win the KVF league title.

Coach of the year title went to wafalme and GSU had Coach Gideon Tarus. Tarus guided the national team to beat Egypt during the Africa Nations volleyball championships held in Cameroon. Apart from the national team, he also retained the KVF league title with GSU

For the heroes’ awards, the late Japheth Kiplimo ws rewarded for his contribution in the growth of the sport in the country.

Others include Cheptil principal Linah Keter for nurturing talents at the school, Esther Barno was awarded for the national team, Kapsabet Boys high school principal Kipchumbe Maiyo was rewarded for his immense contribution in the sports where he started his journey at Cheptil and now in Kapsabet boys.

National record holder Lenah Serem was also rewarded for her efforts in changing the sport, from track to volleyball. Others in the list were Isaac Wakesho, Viola Taki, Walter Otieno, Abdul Muge and Joseph Maina Chelogoi.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 159 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *