Successful Deaflympics team returns

The national golf team to the 24th Summer Deaflympics 2021 games held in Caxias Do Sul Brazil arrived back home on Wednesday 18th May 2022. Isaac Ogolla Makokha made history by becoming the first Kenyan to win a medal in the sport at the quadrennial event. Makokha clinched bronze after beating German Guldan Niko.

Kenya Deaf Golf Federation President Daniel Ogembo lauded Makokha’s performance despite the cold climatic conditions. “The weather has to be the greatest challenge we have experienced. We had two other athletes who wanted to bring glory home but Adan Wario sustained an injury and Gilbert Alikula finished 18th.

The golf team was accompanied by Kenya Deaflympics General Team Manager Josephine Aska who thanked the government for fully supporting national teams.

“Team Kenya has done extremely well. We had teams in five disciplines compared to last time in Turkey where we had three teams. We have excelled and achieved what we promised the President.”

Kenya was represented in Football (women) Handball (men & women), Basketball (men & women), golf (men) and athletics (men) and was ranked top in Africa and 11th overall with a total of 24 medals; 5 gold, 7 silver and 12 bronze.

The triumphant team is arriving home in batches with all medalists expected on Thursday morning (May 19, 2022) after which they will be hosted to a celebratory breakfast at Pride Inn Azzure hotel in Westlands, Nairobi.

Team Kenya medalists


1.Men’s 3000m Steeplechase-Lucas Wandia Wanjiru.

2.Men’s 10000m-Symon Cherono Kibai.

3.Men’s 5000m-Symon Cherono Kibai.

4.Men’s 1500m- Ian Wambui Kahinga.

5.Men’s 800m- Elikana Kiprop Rono.


6. 4X400m Mixed Relay (George Waweru Muthee, Linet Fwamba Nanjala, Beryl Atieno Wamira and Isaac Atima Tongi).

7. Men’s 10000m- Peter Toroitich.

8. Women’s 10000m-Serah Wangari Kimani.

9. Women’s 1500m- Sharon Jeptarus Bitok.

10.Men’s 5000m- Ian Wambui Kahinga

11.Women’s 800- Sharon Jeptarus Bitok.

12. Women 4x400m Relay (Beryl Atieno Wamira, Linet Fwamba Nanjala, Pamela Atieno Atieno, Sharon Bitok Jeptarus)


13.Men’s 10000m- David Kipkogei.

14. Women’s 10000m- Grancy Kandagor.

15. Men’s Javelin- Kelvin Kipkogei.

16. Women’s 400m – Linet Fwamba Nanjala

17. Men’s Golf- Isaac Ogolla Makokha.

18. Men’s 3000m Steeplechase- Peter Omari Kokobi.

19. Women’s 3000m Steeplechase- Ann Njoki Wangeci

20.Women’s 200m- Beryl Atieno Wamira.

21.Women’s 4x100m Relay (Beryl Atieno Wamira,Rael Achieng Wamira, Anzazi Chaka Nyundo and Linet Fwamba Nanjala).

22.Women’s 800m -Rebecca Matiko.

23. Women’s 5000m -Grancy Kendagor.

24.Men’s 4x400m Relay (Simon Menza Gona, Charles Muthama Mwema, George Waweru Muthee, Isaac Atima Tong’i)

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 1200 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.