KGU members to elect new officials as Ndieitu and Gathu to battle for chairman’s post

Kenya Golf Union (KGU) members will be heading into the polls this Friday to elect new members for the next one year during the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Today, the union’s secretary Philip Ochola announced that the polls will be held at the Muthaiga Golf club where top potions will be filled as he will be vying for the vice chairman’s post.

For the chairman’s position, Njani Ndiritu and George Gathu will be facing off to take over from outgoing chairman Peter Kiguru.

Ndiritu and Gathu were nominated by Vet Lab Golf Club and Kenya Air Force Golf Club respectively, one of them will serve the union for a period of one year.

Ochola’s circular addressed to all member clubs, all past chairmen or presidents, all office bearers and members of the executive Committee said that the members will be electing new leaders at the AGM.

The positions to be vied for include that of the chairman, Vice Chairman, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer and six members to serve on the Executive Committee.

“In accordance with article 10.2 of the constitution, notice is hereby given that the 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Governing Council of the Union will be held on Friday 27th May 2022. All member clubs are requested to send the list of their delegates. The agenda will be to approve the minutes of the Annual General Meeting, receive the Chairman’s report, receive the Honorary Treasurer’s report and statement of Accounts and to consider and decide on any action to be taken on the financial affairs of the Union and elect office bearers and members of the Executive for the following year,” read part of the letter.

Limuru’s David Ndung’u will be vying for the position of Honorary Secretary against Karen Club’s Collins Ojiambo and Windsor’s Karugu Macharia remains unopposed in the position of Treasurer.

Executive members have attracted Chris Kinuthia (Thika Sports), Francis Wambua (Golf Park Golf), Ndiga Kithae (Thika Greens Golf Resort), Sammy Itemere (Royal Nairobi) Taufiq Balala (Nyali Golf), Thomas Mwaura (Ruiru Sports) and Walter Onyino (Kenya Railway).

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 220 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.