Kigen and Agai lead kenya podium sweep at Kigali Peace marathon

Former Dennis Kimetto world record pacesetter Wilfred Kigen and Margret Agai were crowned the champions of Kigali Peace International marathon held yesterday in Kogali, Rwanda.

The Kenyan marathon specialist led Kenyan podium sweep in men’s race with Johnston Kibet Maiyo and George Nyamori Onyancha coming in second and third positions respectively.

Kigen ran the course record in 2:16.36 followed by maiyo in 2:17.41 and Onyancha coming third in 2:17.47.

In women, it was an all Kenyan affair as Agai won the title in 2:35.23 in an all Kenyan podium sweep where Rebecca Koria was second timing 2:36.09 and Bornes Kitur finishing third by clocking 2:38.29.

Men results

  1. Wilfred Kigen KEN 2:16:36
  2. Johnstone Kibet Maiyo KEN 2:17:41
  3. George Nyamori Onyancha KEN 2:17:47


  1. Margaret Agai KEN 2:35:23
  2. Rebecca Koria KEN 2:36:09
  3. Bornes Kitur KEN 2:38:29
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 260 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.