Rudisha among aspirants EACC wants them blocked by IEBC

World 800m record holder David Lekuta Rudisha is among hundreds of aspirants who have been flagged by Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission ahead of August 9th elections.

Yesterday, the ethics body listed 241 aspirants that should not be cleared by the Intended Electoral Commission (IEBC).

Vying as an independent ticket to be a member of Kilgoris the two time Olympic Games 800m champion will join over 21,863 aspirants set to face off at the polls, and according to EACC may be integrity verification process to be undertaken by the Commission.

In a letter from “EACC to IEBC, it read in part “EACC considers these persons to have fallen short of the moral and ethical standards stipulated for election to public office. EACC hopes that IEBC will make appropriate decisions guided by Constitutional Values and public interest.”

According to the report, Rudisha in listed number 31, EACC wrote: “The Commission is verifying whether the aspirant resigned from public service as at 9th February 2022 in line with section 43(5) of the Alections Act, 2011.”

The world champion, who serves as Chief Inspector is a traffic police officer based in Eldoret. He also holds the Africa 600m record of 1:13.10 set inside Alexander Stadium in Birmingham, England, in 2016.

He has also basked two world crowns and a Commonwealth Games silver medal he won in Glasgow, Scotland, in 2014.

Other include Usawa Kwa Wote Presidential aspirant Mwangi Wa Iria, Justus Zachous Onyango Juma who is seeking the presidency on Justice and Freedom Party, Republican Party Presidential running mate Matayo Jared Obwogi, Kirinyaga Governor Ann Waiguru and  Former Nairobi Governors Evans Kidero and Mike Mbuvi Sonko, Tharaka Nithi Governor Muthomi Njuki, Migori Governor Okotha Obado (Migori), Kitutu Chache MP Richard Onyonka (Kisii), Paul Karungo Thangwa (Kiambu), Mbogo Lilian Muthoni Wanjiru (Embu), Chelumo Benjamin Kai (Kilifi) and Mungata Danson Buya (Tana River) from vying.

Uasin Gishu Woman Rep Gladys Boss Shollei, Kapseret MP Oscar Sudi, Busia Governor Sospeter Ojamong (Teso South), Sirisia MP John Waluke, Samuel Arama (Nakuru East),  Governor Alfred Mutua Nganga (Mwala) and MP Alfred Keter (Nandi Hills) among others.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 855 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.