Kiprop and Chepkorir top Iten International marathon

It was a maiden win for upstart Luke Kiprop and Naomi Chepkorir in today’s Iten International marathon held in Iten in Elgeyo Marakwet County.

Coached by Erick Kogo, Kiprop won the men’s race in 2:13.19 followed by Charles Kimeli 92:14.26) and Edwin Yator completing the podium at 2:14.45.

Kiprop, who ran with borrowed shoes and running kits from world 10,000m bronze medalist Daniel Simiu Ebenyo, mixing with Kenya team and company top, Kiprop said that he did not prepare for the race since he knew that it was his maiden race and decided to run his own race, which came to pass victorious.

“This is my first race and I wanted to run well, which bore good fruits,” said Kiprop.

 “Simiu used to shoes to win the World half marathon silver in Riga, Latvia as well as winning the New Delhi half marathon with the shoe and today, the same shoe has won the Iten marathon. This is a blessing,” concluded Kogo.

In women 42km, Naomi Chepkorir won the title in 2:32.36 ahead of Linah Kaino (2:34.27) and Caroline Kimosop at 2:36.36.

Chepkorir, who wants to feature at the world cross country championships said that this was her first race this year with hopes of making it better.

“My focus is on world cross country and because I have not earned the qualifying time for the Olympic marathon, I need a slot in cross country,” said Chepkorir.

Miriam Chebet and former Africa junior 5,000m bronze medalist Reuben Longosiwa were the 10km winners.

Longosiwa, from the running family won the men’s title in 28:32 ahead of Nelson Langat (28:44) and Johana Erot completing the podium in 28:46.

Chebet won the title in 32:53 beating Christine Chesire to second at 33:09 and Belinda Chemutai 33:18.

Top finishers

  1. Miriam Chebet- 32:53
  2. Christine Chesire- 33:09
  3. Belinda Chemutai- 33:18
  4. Vivian melly- 33:27
  5. Brenda Tuwei- 33;35
  6. Selaj Jepleting- 33:39
  7. Edna kibiwott- 33:45
  8. Dorcas Kimeli-34:07
  9. Christine Kiyogo- 34:16
  10. Sylvia Chelelgo- 34:21

Men 10k

  1. Reuben longosiwa- 28:32
  2. Nelson Langat- 28:44
  3. Johanna Erot- 28:46
  4. James Kipkoech- 28:55
  5. Amos Kipkurui- 29:03
  6. Bravin Kiprop- 29:07
  7. Patrick Kipkurui- 29;09
  8. Nahashon Cheruiyto- 29:10
  9. Tinmothy Kibet- 29:11
  10. Gideon Kiprotich- 29:12

42km women

  1. Naomi Chepkorir- 2:32.36
  2. Linah kaino- 2:34.27
  3. Caroline Kimosop- 2:36.36
  4. Sophia Chesir- 2:37.03
  5. Sharon Kosgei-2:38.20
  6. Joy Kemuma- 2:38.34
  7. Rael Kimaiyo- 2:39.36
  8. Sheila Kipkemei- 2:41.52
  9. Winnie Chepkosgei- 2:41.55
  10. Mercy Kipchumba- 2:42.23

Men 42km

  1. Luke Kiprop- 2:13.19
  2. Cahrles Kimeli- 2:14.26
  3. Edwin yator- 2:14.45
  4. Richard Rutto- 2:14.54
  5. Kiprop Kimutai- 2:15.02
  6. Peter Kosgei- 2:15.34
  7. Reuben Navii- 2:15.50
  8. Alfred Kipyego- 2:16.10
  9. Duncan Kiptum- 2:16.14
  10. Henry Kosgei- 2:16.21
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 1702 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *