President Ruto unveils Wall of Fame in Eldoret

President William Ruto today unveiled the Wall of Fame to celebrate the achievements of various athletes who have conquered the world in many races.

The Walls of Fame located at the newly built Eldoret arboretum has all names of Kenya’s top athletes who have won medals and ruled major city marathons across the world.

Central Rift Athletics Kenya chairman Abraham Mutai the president will have an opportunity to mingle with top world runners at the same place.

 “Come Wednesday the president will be launching the Wall of Fame where all athletes who have won medals and ruling in major city marathons across the world have their names engraved. It will include the Commonwealth Games, Olympic Games, World championships, Africa championships among others. We shall not leave anybody. It will be an inclusive event,” said Mutai

This comes a day after the veterans showcased their talents on Tuesday morning during the Devolution Sports Day at the Kipchoge Keino stadium.

They included, to mention a few were Nickson Kiprotich, the 1992 Barcelona 800m silver medalist, William Tanui, the former world 800m champion, Amos Biwott, the first Kenyan to win the 3,000m steeplechase in 1968, Benjamin Limo, the former 5,000m world champion, former 400m hurdler Rose Tata Muya among others.

Limo, the only Kenyan to win gold at the 2005 world championships in Helsinki, Finland, said that it was a great pleasure for the great men and women, who represented this country, to be recognized.

“This is a good idea that the people who flew the Kenyan flag are recognized at home. This conference is a blessing to us,” said Limo.

One of the oldest athletes was Fatwell Kimaiyo, aged 76. The Nandi based won the 1974 Commonwealth champion in 110m hurdles.

Also present was the 1992 Olympic 3000m steeplechase bronze medallist William Mutwol and 1992 World steeplechase winner Philip Barkutwo.

Marathon runners were former Berlin, Paris and Milan Marathons winner Simon Biwott, former Rotterdam marathon champion Duncan Kibet among others.

The 1999 World 3000m steeplechase champion Christopher Koskei competed in the 200m, Peter Koech, the 1988 Olympic 3000m steeplechase gold medallist had also been enlisted for the 200m show.

Joseph Chesire, who represented his country in the 1984, 1988 and 1992 Summer Olympics, Tekla Chemabwai, the first Kenyan to compete at the Olympics in 1968 and Lydia Cheromei, former Amsterdam Marathon were among over veterans who graced the Devolution Conference sports event.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 1206 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *