Wangila Simiyi, RFUEA, Kenya Simbas, Hong Kong 15s, Kenya15s, Leigh Jones, Nick Hewson

Africa Gold Cup new format

New format has been introduced ahead of 2019 Africa Gold Cup when the matches will be played in pool formula.

According to Africa Rugby, there shall be two pools  (a&B) of eight teams.

According to a statement by Kenya Rugby Union, Kenya Simbas- 2018 runners up-  will be in pool B with Uganda, Algeria and Morocco. 2018 Champions Namibia are in Pool A that also features Tunisia, Zimbabwe and the newly promoted Zambia.

The proposed format will have the pool Matches played in a round robin in two different venues and on different dates within July. Pool A matches will be played between July 6th and 14th while Pool B matches will take place between 13th and 21st July.

Participating unions have been asked to tender to host the pool stages. Winners of each pool will proceed to the final where the host will be chosen according to the points collected during the Pool Phases. The final will take place during the November test window.

The dates are tentative and should they change, Rugby Africa will alert the participating Nations.

Pool A Matches:

6th July
Match 1- Namibia vs Tunisia
Match 2 – Zimbabwe vs Zambia
10th July
Match 3 – Namibia vs Zambia
Match 4 – Tunisia vs Zimbabwe
14th July
Match 5 – Namibia vs Zimbabwe
Match 6 – Tunisia vs Zambia

Pool B Matches
13th July
Match 1 – Kenya vs Uganda
Match 2 – Algeria vs Morocco
17th July
Match 3 – Kenya vs Morocco
Match 4 – Algeria vs Uganda
21st July
Match 5 – Kenya vs Algeria
Match 6 – Uganda vs Morocco

Raga House

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 821 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *