Amina and Okudo to lead Commonwealth and Africa Youth Games steering committee

Sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohammed will be the chairperson for the Commonwealth Games and Africa Youth Games steering Committee.

Today, the government through the ministry of Sports appointed Amina as the chairperson that will be deputized by her principal secretary Joe Okudo.

The Commonwealth Games which will kick off on July 28th to August 8th in Birmigham, United Kingdom will be followed by Africa Youth Games that will be hosted in Cairo, Egypt starting from August 29th to September 9th.

Josephine Onunga will be the secretary to the Steering Committee while other steering Committee members are Josephta Mukobe, Principal Secretary, Macharia Kamau, Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Paul Tergat, the President of National Olympic Committee of Kenya (NOC-K) and Athletics Kenya President, Jackson Tuwei.

Other members are Sports Kenya chairman Charles Waithaka, Anti-Doping Agency of Kenya (Adak) Daniel Makdwallo, Director of Sports Japson Gitonga and Chief Finance Officer in State Department for Sports Samuel Mugambi, Kenya National Paralympics Committee President Agnes Oluoch and Sports Journalists Association of Kenya secretary general Mike Okinyi.

The Central Management Committee (CMG) for the Commonwealth Games has Josephine Onunga, who is Secretary for Administration at State Department for Sports as the chairperson.

The first deputy President NOC-K, Shadrack Maluki, will be the deputy chairperson.

Kenya Amateur Weightlifting Association Secretary General John Ogolla has been appointed at the Chef de Mission for Team Kenya to the Commonwealth Games while Olympic 5,000m silver medallist Hellen Obiri will be the Chef de Mission for team Kenya for the Africa Youth Games

Shoaib Vayani and Walter Juma Ongeti will be Ogolla’s deputies while rugby legend Humphrey Kayange was appointed the Chief Executive Officer and Secretary for Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

NOC-K secretary general Francis Mutuku and NOC-K treasurer Eliud Kariuki are members of Central Management Committee.

Susan Adhiambo will be the Chief Executive Officer and Secretary for the Africa Youth Games.

Evans Bosire from Athletics Kenya will be the General Team Manager for Commonwealth Games while Camilyne Ayuayo from Kenya Rugby Union is the General Team Manager for African Youth Games

Additional information: Daily Nation

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 473 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *