Chebet rewarded for her gold in Aarhus

There were tears again as World Junior Cross Country champion Beatrice Chebet was rewarded by Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK) and StarTimes Sports Monthly Personality for the Month of March.

Chebet who cried after she won gold in a photo finish at the 2019 world cross country championships in Aarhus, Denamrk, cried again while receiving the gong.

Beatrice Chebet with her tv

Chebet won first gold for Kenya in Aarhus in one of the closest finishes in recent history.

Chebet won the crown by the thickness of the vest edging Out Ethiopian pair Alemitu Tariku and Tsigie Gebreselama.

For the Coveted Award, Chebet edged out World Cross Senior Women’s Champion Helen Obiri, Simon Ngige Who Was the top ranked Kenyan Golfer at the Kenya Open Championship at Karen Golf and Country Club,   and Sharon Kiprono of Kenya Pipeline  who was voted Best Attacker at the Africa Club Championship in Egypt.

Chebet was delighted with the Award and has now set her sights on the World Championships in Doha, Qatar later in September. “I’m Happy to win the award. Winning the Junior Title in Denmark was not easy, I thank God for the victory it was a tough event” Added Chebet

Following her victory Chebet took Home a 42 inch StarTimes Digital TV and Ksh. 100,000 Prize Money. She becomes the 21st Winner of the Award since Its inception in 2017.

Speaking during the presentation ceremony, StarTimes Director of Marketing and PR, Mr. Japheth Akhulia said, “Chebet is an inspiration to many, especially girls who are eager to compete at the highest level. As a brand, StarTimes will endeavor to encourage our sports men and women through these awards as a way of recognizing their dedicated efforts in the industry,”

SJAK Organizing Secretary, Wanjiku Mwenda, said the association is proud to give non-football sports men and women a platform to be recognized.

“We are happy that these awards are already inspiring athletes to work hard to prosper at the World stage,” Wanjiku noted.

Chebet now  and Joins a glittering list of top sportsmen and women to have won the award, among them Fatuma Zarika, Eliud Kipchoge, Mary Keitany, Wycliffe Kinyamal, Hellen Obiri, Chess Player Sasha Mongeli, Swimmer Maria Brunhelner,Rally Driver Manvir Baryan, Beatrice Chepkoech and Boxer Judy Waguthi

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 370 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *