Jelagat stun Jerop for Tobong’lore half marathon title

Nancy Jelagat upstaged former world cross country junior bronze medalist Cynthia Cherop to win the Tobong’lore half marathon ran today in Turkana County.

As Samuel Lomoe shone in men’s 21km with  Isaac Kalala and Alice Ekai braving the morning sunny condition to claim 10km titles.

Race favourite Jerop, the 2018 Kass marathon champion finished second behind Jelagat in one of the fastest women title chase.

The Los Angeles marathon silver medalist Jerop, has been dominating local championships that include the inaugural Bomet half marathon, Kaptagat half marathon, Chemususu 10km among others.

Jelegat from Elgeyo Marakwet has been doing well on track where she finished second during Athletics Kenya North Rift championships last weekend ahead of national track and field championships.

 Jelagat timed 71:57 to be crowned the champion ahead of Jerop in 73:22 and Zeddy Cherop completed the podium positions in 74:38.

Running on home-ground, Samuel Lomoe was in top form to win the men’s 21km race in 60.45 to win the race ahead of Shadrack Korir timing 63.15 followed by Solomon Koech clocking 64:22 to close the top three positions.

Lomoe said he was very excited to have won the race in his home town and hopes that one day he represents his county in a world stage.

In 10km men Isaac kalala was timed 32.12.81, while Simon Ewaa was second clocking 33.36.49, Antony Looyakar followed in distant third timing 34.32.36.

In 10km women category Alice Ekai emerged the winner timing 38.30.21, ahead of Everlyne Kosgei clocking 39.03.30 and was followed in a distant 48.49.16.

21km men

  1. Samuel Lomoe-62:45
  2. Shadrack Korir- -63:15
  3. Solomon Koech-64:22
  4. Jamin Ekai-64:45
  5. Daniel Boiwo-65:07

Women 21km

  1. Nancy Jelagat- 71:59
  2. Cynthia Jerop-73:22
  3. Zeddy Cherop-74:38
  4. Caren Cheptoeek-75:24
  5. Rebecca Chelengo-76:30

10km women

  1. Alice Akai-38:50.21
  2. Everlyne Kosgei-39:03.30
  3. Rebecca Nakuwa-48:49.16
  4. Regina Ewoi-
  5. Elizabeth Akuwom-

10km men

  1. Isaac Kalala-32:12.81
  2. Simon Ewaa-33:36.49
  3. Antony Lonyakor-34:32.36
  4. Isaac Ekan-35:32.63
  5. Hillary Githingori-36:03.58
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 287 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *