Kariobangi Sharks powers to first title

Kariobangi Sharks edged out 2009 Kenya Premier League (KPL) champions Sofapaka to lift the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Shield Cup in the final match played at Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani.

George Abege netted a brace and the winner in the 3-2 whipping of Safapaka to get a ticket for 2019 Caf Confederation Cup.

Playing at the final of the Shield for the second time, the cup is the major achievement for kariobangi who were promoted to the KPL last season after losing the title to 2017 champions AFC Leopards in a final match played at the same venue.

Abege netted his first goal in 27th minute for Kariobangi before Stephen Waruru leveled in 43rd minute for a 1-1 stalemate at the break.

On 58th minute, Kevin Kimani scored the second goal for Sofapaka for a 2-1 lead but substitute Sydney Lokale equalized for the champion on the 59th minute but Abege scored the winner on 83rd minute.

The champions who lost 2-0 to AFC Leopards in last year’s final, also take home Sh2 million in prize money as Sofapaka walk away with Sh1 million.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 222 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *