Kipruto and Nyaga win police cross country titles

World 10km record holder Rhonex Kipruto and Carolyne Nyaga defeated their opponents to win the Kenya Police Service Cross Country championships held today at the Ngong Racecourse ahead of national cross country championships that will be staged in Eldoret next week.

The new recruit Kipruto, who also holds the world 10,000m bronze ended the dominance of three time world cross country champion Geoffrey Kamworor.

The Iten based Kirpruto won the race in 30:28.57 with another recruit Michael Kibet to second in 30:28.9 with Josphat Kiprotich ending the podium in 30:46.8.

In women, Eastern’s Nyaga won the title in 35:53.44 ahead of Nelly Jeptoo (35:58.54) and Janet Ruguru (36:04.43).

Selected results 

1. Rhonex Kipruto (BPU) 30:28.6

2. Michael Kibet (BPU) 30:28.9

3. Josphat Kiprotich (CIPU) 30:46.8

4. Joseph Kiptum (NEP) 30:50.7

5. Edwin Bett (RDU) 30:52.1

6. Kennedy Cheserek (GSU) 31:02.4

Selected results

1. Caroline Nyaga (Eastern) 35:52.6

2. Nelly Cheptoo (Nairobi) 35:58.6

3. Jane Ruguru (RVP) 36:04.5

4. Mercy Cherono (RVP) 36:05.8

5. Margaret Wangare (Coast) 36:08.2

6. Faith Kimutai (RVP) 36:12.2

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 914 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *