Magut and Cherop crowned Mwale Medical and Training City (MMTC) marathon champions

Eliud Magut and Irene Cherop braced the hot sun and hot weather to win the inaugural Mwale Medical and Training (MMTC) marathon held on Saturday in Butere, kakamega County.

Running in his second marathon, Maiyo from Kapsabet won the men’s race beating Dennis Yator and Moses Kigen to second and third respectively.

Despite the hot weather, Maiyo said that the victory was a solace for the hard and harsh conditions in the low altitude compared to his training base.

“We had to adopt other training sessions like training in the afternoon as part of training for this weather,” said Maiyo who clocked 2:24.20 for the title.

Yator from Iten came in second at 2:24.29 and Kigen also from Kapsabet completed the podium at 2:247.21.

In women, Cherop from Iten, running her second marathon after failing to complete the Nairobi marathon, won the title in 2:46.23 head of Viola Chemos who was second at 2:49.23 with Rael Kiara completing the podium in 2:53.47 in a race that attracted 13 athletes in total.

“I have never run in a hard course like this but we had to endure the challenges and come out victorious,” said Cherop.

Viola Jepngeno and Josphat Kimutai were victorious in the half marathon category.

Jepngeno won the 21km women’s title in 1:12.54 followed by Vivian Jerotich in1:12.57 and Christine Njoki coming third at 1:13.31.

Iten based Kimutai took home the title in 1:02.58 ahead of Ezra Tanui who clocked 1:03.29 and Edward Koonyo was third in 1:03.39.

Selected results

42km women  

  1. Irene Cherop-2:46.23
  2. Viola Chemos-2:49.23
  3. Rael Kiara-2:53.47
  4. Sally Jepkosgei-2:55.13
  5. Joy Lemuma-2:56.48
  6. Betty Chekirui-2:59.43
  7. Nancy Koech-3:00.09
  8. Fridah Jepkoech-3:05.06
  9. Lucy Liavonga-3:08.23
  10. Caren Jelagat-3:34.08

42km men

  1. Eliud Maiyo-2:24.20
  2. Dennis Kiprotich Yator-2:24.29
  3. Moses Kige-2:27.21
  4. Duncan Manyara-2:28.00
  5. Henry Kosgei-2:30.10
  6. Bethwel Chepngeno-2:30.22
  7. Dismus Nyoira-2:31.01
  8. Vacancy Kipchirchir-2:32.12
  9. Samuel Kalalel-2:36.20
  10. Hitley Ombisi-2:36.20

21km women

  1. Viola Jepngeno-1:12.54
  2. Vivian Jerotich- 1:12.57
  3. Christine Njoki-1:13.31
  4. Glorious Jepkirui-1:14.02
  5. Atalina Napule-1:15.44
  6. Sharon Chemeli-1:16.28
  7. Philice Cheroriot-1:18.17
  8. Salome Otiso-1:20.54
  9. Catherine Reiyoyi-1:21.58
  10. Vicoty Chepkemoi-1:26.45

21km men

  1. Josphat Kimutai-1:02.58
  2. Ezra Tanui-1:03.23
  3. Edward Koonyo-1:03.39
  4. Enos kales-1:03.52
  5. Kipsambu Kimakal-1:04.16
  6. Kiprono Koech-1:04.31
  7. Sammy Kurui-1:04.37
  8. Benicious Kipkorir-1:04.40
  9. Philip Tarus-1:04.40
  10. Micah Cheserek- 1:04.45

10km men

  1. BRIAN Kibor-31:10.9
  2. Zacharia Krop-31:20.3
  3. Dominic Kurgat-31;32.2
  4. Desmond Chepkiror-31:35.4
  5. Patrick Kipkirui-31:37.1
  6. Sammy Kirongo-32:25.4
  7. Samuel Kipkemoi-32:52.0
  8. Ian Kimutai-32:04.5
  9. Brian Kiplimo-33:17.2
  10. Nickson Kiplagat-33:30.3

10km women

  1. Tegla Lokrare-37:07.5
  2. Fridah Chebet-40:33.2
  3. Esther Sichei-43:23.6
  4. Miriam Tanui-47:04.7
  5. Terry nabulimbo-48:35.3
  6. Doreen Mulinya-53:46.2 
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 1721 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *