Maiyo triumph at captain’s prize in Eldoret

Silas Maiyo edged out over 100 golfers to win the Eldoret captain’s Prize golf title played at the Eldoret Golf club today.

Maiyo sunk 66 nett to be crowned the champion of the tournament that marked the end of Jackson Kiprono as club captain for the last one year, ushering in Dr Mathew Koech who will reign for the next 12 months in office.

He defeated Nandi Bear’s Michael Chebii on 68, Cynthia Chelogoi to third with 69 and Sylvia Tanui was 4th on 71, beating Moses Tanui and Wesley Kiprono on count back.

The incoming captain Koech, wearing a green jacket that was introduced by former captain Nathan Tororei said that he wants to improve the course to be an 18 hole.

Aron Kitur was the gross winner with one over par 72 followed by Kenneth Serem with two over and Nandi Bear’s Nelson Koech coming third on three over.

 At the commercials, Caroline Koech and Paul Mwangi were longest drive women and men winners with Joshua Mukoro winning nearest to pin title.

On 38 and 35 points each, Nandi Bear’s Elvis Kimeres and Eldoret’s James Komen were first and second nine winners respectively with Pyare Aggarwal and Florence Murgor winning senior men and women titles.  

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 475 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *