Shelmith Muriuki, Brimin Kipkorir wins Athens marathon

Shelmith Muriuki and Brimin Kipkorir were the winners of today’s 36th edition of Athens marathon ran in Greece with course records.

The 33 year old Muriuki clocked 2:36.46 to win women’s title ahead of compatriot Rebby Koech who timed 2:38.46 in a 1-2 podium finish for Kenyans before home girl Eleftheria Petroulaki who was debuting closed the podium clocking 2:46.09.

Brimin Kipkorir won the men’s title after he clocked 2:10.56 defeating

Kipkorir was shy off with 19 seconds off the course record set by his compatriot Felix Kandie in winning the 2014 race and just one second behind the winning time in the 2004 Athens Olympics, by Italy’s Stefano Baldini.

Ethiopia’s finest Tesfa Wokneth who was a real threat to Kipkorir came in second in 2:12.52 with fellow Ethiopian Asmeraw Mengistu closing the first three podium places in 2:13.20.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 173 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *