Valary Aiyabei, Mathew Kiprotich wins 21km Standard Chartered marathon

Former Barcelona marathon champion Valary Aiyabei Jemeli and little known Mathew Kiprotich were the winners of the 21km Nairobi Standard Chartered Marathon today.

The reigning Beijing marathon champion defended her title she won last year in the Kenyan capital.

Aiyabei made history as the first athlete to ever retain the title either in half or full marathon, clocking 72:02.

Aiyabei showed her grit and style, taking an early lead, beating newcomer Irine Kamais from Baringo to second place in 1:13:37.

Former track mistress, the 2009 Berlin and 2011 Daegu World Championships 5 000m silver medallist Sylvia Kibet finished third in 1:14:05.

In men’s race, Kiprotich, who won 2012 but finished second in 2011 and third in 2013, recaptured the men’s title in 1:04:57.

Paul Kibet settled second in 1:05:24 as James Kiplagat came in 1:05:32.

Selected results

21KM Men

  1. Mathew Kiprotich 01:04:56
  2. Paul Kibet 01:05:21
  3. James Kiplagat 01:05:33
  4. Isaac Kipkemboi 01: 05:38
  5. Kenneth Cheserek 01:05:51

21KM Women

  1. Valary Aiyabei 01:12:06
  2. Irene Jepchumba 01:13:40
  3. Sylvia Jebiwot 01:14:09
  4. Caroline Jebet 01:16:28
  5. Emmy Chebet 01:16:49
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 183 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *