Valary Jemeli, Daniel Kipchumba wins Rimoi Kapnarok half marathon

Former Barcelona marathon champion Valary Aiyabei Jemeli and reigning Copenhagen half marathon winner Daniel Kipchumba were the winners of the Inaugural Rimoi Kapnarok half marathon ran today

The reigning Beijing marathon champion, Jemeli upstaged reigning Paris half marathon winner Antonina Kwambaito claim the title after braving the early morning hot sun with the race cutting across two counties of Baringo and Elgeyo Marakwet.

Valary Aiyabei Jemeli wins the Inaugural Rimoi Kapnarok Half Marathon. Photo by Sabuni Khwa Sabuni

The duo surged the hilly course that started Salawa area in Baringo and ended at Elgeyo Marakwet’s Biretwo centre.
Jemeli, who has dominated local races timed 71:20 ahead of Kwambai’s 71:23 and Naomi Chepngetich completing the podium in 72:50.
“I came here as part of my training and ending the season well ahead of2019. And this is a good season end closing the year well,” said Jemeli.

Enjoying a 68:02 set in Paris half marathon, Kwambai went ahead to claim Lille Half Marathon as she sets focus in major marathon next year.
“I want to compete well in 2019 and today I came to practise,” said Hamburg 10km 10km champion.
little was known about Kipchumba until he crossed the line. Coming from NNrunning, Kipchumba won the Copenhagen half marathon.

Focusing on 2019 calendar, the 2018Iten marathon silver medalist stopped the timer in 62:70.0 ahead of Noah Kipkemboi (63:15.2) and Mathew Kemboi  (63:31.3).
“I will work hard to defend my Copenhagen title next year,” said New Delhi half marathon bronze medallist.
Selected results

1. Valary Jemeli-71:20
2. Antonina Kwambai-71:23
3. Naomi Chepnhetich-72:50
4. Brilliant Chepkorir -72:51
5. Maurine Chepkemoi-73:14
6. Esther Chesang -75:08
1. Daniel Kipchumba-62:57.0
2. Noah Kipkemboi-63:15.2
3. Mathew Kemboi-63;31.3
4. Kelvin Kiptum-63;37.9
5. Josphat Boit-63:47.0
6. Josphat Kiprop -63:62.3.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 234 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *