Atete Benzinge named Africa’s best lady rider

Girl rider Atete Benzinge was named the East African Motor Sports Club (EAMSC) lady rider of the year during the Prize Giving Ceremony for the 2018 season held at Nairobi Polo Club.

Atete, who won the 2018 Kenya National Motocross Championship MX50 Class, participated in all the FIM Africa CAC regional events in Nairobi and Kampala as well as the FIM AFRICA Motocross of African Nations Continental Championship which is took  place in Zambia from 17-19 August 2018..  

Atete was bestowed with the Beaulah Schoeman Trophy for her determination and flat-out racetrack antics in the 2018 season which saw her sweep the ground with all the boy riders.

The most meritorious award went to Rolf Kihara who clinched both the National and FIM CAC MX2 Championship titles.

Kihara, an elder sibling of rider Dekker Kihara, has represented Kenya in several FIM Africa CAC Regional Motocross Challenge events.

Rider Samuel Magwa took the most meritorious award while Trey Garner of MX50 Class was named the winner of the Little Ripper Award.

Gisa Benzinge was feted for winning the Pee Wee Class.

Kit Garner was feted for winning the  MX65 Class National Championship and so was Dylan Mutahi (MX85) and Kigen Kiplagat (MX125).

Multiple Kenya National Rally and Safari navigator champion Tim Jessop was acknowledged for winning the 2018 Enduro Expert class champion while William Meyer won the Enduro Clubman Class.

During the event the Kenya Motor Sports Foundation also feted all category champions in Motocross, Enduro and Rally Raid (motorcycle). Shivam Vinayak won the Rally Raid motorcycle class for the umpteenth time. Rolf Kihara was feted for being the 2018 FIM Africa CAC Regional MX2 champion.

The Karin Bernardo/Angus Young Trophy’s sporting category went to Julie Wahome and non-sporting to Sari Sherman. 

Sari is well known for her unswerving spirit of volunteering towards environmental awareness while Julie has played a pivotal role in creating awareness and visibility for Women In Motorsport (WIN).

The Kenya team to the FIM Africa also received appreciation medals from the Foundation. The team comprised of Atete Benzinge, Dekker Kihara, Peter Magwa and Rolf Kihara.

The awards were preceded by the EAMSC Annual General Meeting where  

Kennedy Chege Kihara, was elected the Club Chairman and  Mutahi Wariithi the Vice Chairman.



1. Gisa Benzinge 

2. Thuku Waweru

3. Hannah Nyambura

4. Jonross Nyachae

5. Dylan Hatanga


1. Atete Benzinge

2. Wahome Mutahi

3. Trey Garner

4. Zawadi Nyachae

5. Simran Choda

6. Mathange Kamundia

7. Nathan Kamau

8. Cherono Kandie


1. Kit Garner

2. Tanav Choda

3. Andrew Ohonde

4. Rendy Magara

5. Alex Njoroge

6. Jamie Car-Hartmey

7. Brian Kinuthua


1. Dylan Mutahi

2. Vince Schrier

3. Tai Wahome


1. Kigen Kiplagat

2. Zenni Onditi

3. Christian Chege


1. Rolf Kihara

2. Alex Moi

3. Maxine Wahome

Enduro Expert Class

1. Tim Jessop

2. Shivam Vinayak

3. Ben Skinks

Enduro Clubman Class

1. William Meyer

2. Xavian Walimohamed

3. Anton Nara’s

Appreciation Plaques

1. Rene Benzinge (His commitment in introducing new riders)

2. Aggrey Jumba (His commitment to the club)

3. Coca Cola (For the sponsorship in kind at Motocross events

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 1002 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *