Iwobi and Ndidi to lead Super at AFCON

Everton’s Alex Iwobi and Leicester’s Wilfred Ndidi will lead former Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) champions Nigeria at next weekend’s championships that kick off on Saturday 9th in Cameroon.

The duo midfielders will team up with other top players for the biennial tournament in the Central African Republic show that will end next month.  

But they will miss the services of strikers Emmanuel Dennis and Victor Osimhen who were dropped out of their squad.

Also missing will be defenders Leon Balogun and Abdullahi Shehu have also withdrawn because of injury, the Nigerian Football Federation said as it announced a revised 28-man squad on Friday.

Dennis is not being released by Watford because the Nigerian federation did not request him for the tournament in time.

Watford manager Claudio Ranieri earlier this week revealed Nigeria missed the deadline to inform Watford of their intention to select him, giving the club the power to decide whether to release the 24-year-old striker for international duty.

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs), John Noble (Enyimba), Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam), Francis Uzoho (Omonia Nicosia)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino), Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion), Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor), Jamilu Collins (Paderborn), Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia), Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes), Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto), William Troost Ekong (Watford)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers), Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow), Alex Iwobi (Everton), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Kelechi Nwakali (Huesca), Frank Onyeka (Brentford)

Forwards: Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal), Odion Ighalo (Al Shabab), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk), Peter Olayinka (Slavia Prague), Henry Onyekuru (Olympiakos), Moses Simon (Nantes), Sadiq Umar (Almeria). (Writing by Mark Gleeson in Cape Town; Editing by William Maclean)

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 355 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *