GOLF Home Uncategorized

Mike Kisia wins Mount Kenya Championships

Vet Lab’s Mike Kisia won the second leg of Golfer of the Year (GOTY), The Mount Kenya Championships over the weekend at par 72 Nyeri golf course.

Kisia shot level par 144 Gross to lift the title last won by Kenneth Bollo on the two day event organized by Kenya Golf Union (KGU) in the amateur golfers’ event.

Mike Kisia, Samuel Njoroge, Robinson Owiti, Stephen Kiaro, Peter Rimui, Mount Kenya Championships, Emmanuel Sabuni, Golfer of The Year, Goty, kenya golf union, kenya golf union,

He started badly on the opening day one over 73 and returned with one under 71 on the last day to beat Railway Club based Samuel Njoroge who finished second with one over 145. Njoroge started badly on the opening day with four over 76 and good goodies came on the last day with three under 69.

“I thank God that I won this meeting. It has been long since I won a Goty event and I want to extend the wins to lift the overall title,” said Kisia.

Former Kenya captain Robinson Owiti of Vet lab completed the podium with two over 145. He started with 76 and 70 on the first and second day respectively.

After leading on the opening day Railway Club’s Alfred Nandwa was a distance 4th with four over 146 (71, 75) followed by Peter Rimui of Thika Sports.

The top amateur golfers are using the tournaments as precursor for the Kenya open in which Sujan Shah of Sigona golf club, the Winners match play, Alfred Nandwa of Railways golf club, winner stroke play, Kevi Bollo of Royal Nairobi golf club, 2016 overall winner, Agil is Hag of Nyali golf club, the junior winner, Jeff Kubwa of Muthaiga golf club, runner-up 2016, and John Karichu of Limuru country club, third 2016 will fly the Kenyan flag.

Vetlabs’ team trio of Mike Kisia (73+71=144 Gross), Robinson Owiti (76+70=147 Gross) and Edwin Mudanya (76+77=154 Gross) saw them snatch the accumulative team points from Royal Nairobi trio of Ken Bollo (71+78=149 Gross), Kevin Juma (75+82=157 Gross) and David Saikwa (74+75=149 Gross)

Other results;
1. Gross winner – Mike Kisia (73+71=144 Gross)
2. Gross runner-up – Samuel Njoroge (71+72=143 Gross)
3. Gross 2nd runner-up – Robinson Owiti (76+70=146 Gross)
4. Net winner – Stephen Kiaro (71+72=143 Net)
5. Net runner-up – Peter Rimui (73+71=144 Net)
6. Net second-runner-up – Reuben Langat (74+72=146 Net).

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 454 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *